Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2008, 02:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

3-way motion sensors for stairway


Is it possible to use 2- 3way motion sensors to control one light in the stairway?
Just replace the 2 existing 3 way switches with motion senors.
Or....Can you only use 1 motion sensor with this scenario?
Thanks a bunch.

GuitarPlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 06:03 PM   #2
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

3-way motion sensors for stairway


Quote:
Originally Posted by GuitarPlayer View Post
Is it possible to use 2- 3way motion sensors to control one light in the stairway?
Just replace the 2 existing 3 way switches with motion senors.
Or....Can you only use 1 motion sensor with this scenario?
Thanks a bunch.
A 3 way switch is designed to swich an item, such as a light from 2 seperate locations. If you currently have 2 switches as such, then they are 3 way switches. They sell 3 way motion switches at lowes / home depot / menards for about $17 each. You would replace both 3 way switches with the 3 way motion switches and it would sense motion in both locations.

Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 09:06 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way motion sensors for stairway


Jamie:
Thanks for your help. My concern is..I know with the old style dimmers, you could only put a 3 way dimmer at one end or the other. Will I have the same problem with with motion sensors?
Thanks
GuitarPlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 12:45 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

3-way motion sensors for stairway


I actually used 2 single pole motion sensors on the stairway lights at my house. Either one will turn the lights on but both have to be off for the lights to be off. Its nice setup this way because I can disable one or the other motion sensors and still have the other turn the lights on. The sensor at the bottom of the stairs focuses out into the family room so the lights tend to come on frequently by just moving around in the family room. So the sensor at the bottom of the stairs is almost always in the "off" position, but with the added abilty to turn the lights to constant on without having to go to the top of the stairs to do so. Basically the two sensors are wired in parrallel.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 05:13 PM   #5
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

3-way motion sensors for stairway


Quote:
Originally Posted by GuitarPlayer View Post
Jamie:
Thanks for your help. My concern is..I know with the old style dimmers, you could only put a 3 way dimmer at one end or the other. Will I have the same problem with with motion sensors?
Thanks
I understood it to mean that you are looking to put a motion sensor at both locations, not a dimmer? Or are you just comparing this setup to that of a 3way dimmer?

There are different setups with the 3way dimmers due to the dimmer controal.

However with a motion sensor if you buy the 3-way motion controal, it can be turned on and off at either location, if we are just talking about a motion sensor setup, without dimmers, it is a simple setup. You are just purchasing a 3-way switch with a motion sensor attached to the switch, they work just like regular 3-way switches, but there is the motion controal on the switch.

You currently have 2 3-way switches that controal 1 or more lights correct? And you want those 2 switches to be motion sensor switches instead of regular light switches, is that correct?

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 08:24 PM   #6
SNC
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 150
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way motion sensors for stairway


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
A 3 way switch is designed to swich an item, such as a light from 2 seperate locations. If you currently have 2 switches as such, then they are 3 way switches. They sell 3 way motion switches at lowes / home depot / menards for about $17 each. You would replace both 3 way switches with the 3 way motion switches and it would sense motion in both locations.

Jamie
Where in the store would you find these? I was looking and all I could find was the repacment sensore for outdoor lighting. I used one of these at the foot of my stairs but it is a little slow to activate, and once in awhile it wont come on at all.
The guy in Lowes didnt know a thing, but this is normal.
SNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 08:50 PM   #7
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

3-way motion sensors for stairway


Quote:
Originally Posted by SNC View Post
Where in the store would you find these? I was looking and all I could find was the repacment sensore for outdoor lighting. I used one of these at the foot of my stairs but it is a little slow to activate, and once in awhile it wont come on at all.
The guy in Lowes didnt know a thing, but this is normal.
In lowes I am pretty sure they are right in the switch isle by the other switches. In Menards (in the midwest) they are next to the wire nuts / wire connectors in the switch isle, right across the isle from the switches. Anyway, in most stores they should be near the regular light switches, not the outdoor lighting. Or just buy it online:

http://www.amazon.com/3-Way-Motion-S.../dp/B000GAQB98

I know they have the cooper brand at Menards and Lowes. I have the cooper one installed, and it works very well. Very fast at switching on.

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 06:16 AM   #8
SNC
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 150
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way motion sensors for stairway


I think I may have seen something like that. Thanks.

Darn I have my box mounted sidways, I wanted to tuck it up high to try to be out of sight.
SNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 10:11 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3-way motion sensors for stairway


You have answered my question. Thank you very much and have a great day.
GuitarPlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 10:38 AM   #10
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

3-way motion sensors for stairway


Quote:
Originally Posted by SNC View Post
I think I may have seen something like that. Thanks.

Darn I have my box mounted sidways, I wanted to tuck it up high to try to be out of sight.
They seem to work well at pretty close to a 180 degree range.. So that gives you a lot to work with.
jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combine Motion Sensor and Timer for One Light fritzycat1 Electrical 9 11-22-2008 01:25 PM
What type of wire to connect motion sensor to light? beezlebub03 Electrical 1 05-31-2008 01:16 PM
Putting 2 Motion Sensors Together capt2 Electrical 2 12-25-2007 11:32 AM
Two motion sensors on one circuit? jjohnson Electrical 5 01-06-2007 06:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.