3 Way Illuminated Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2010, 09:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way illuminated switch


I just want to replace two 3 way switches with illuminated ones.There were 3 wires connected to the old switch (red,white and a black). I changed from the old switch to the new ones and now my light works but the switch doesn't light up when the light is off. I put the black to common and the red and white wire I tried changing on the other terminal screws. Is there suppose to be a green ground?

Advertisement

Bear1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 12:05 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3 way illuminated switch


Those switches won't work very well unless you are controlling a significant load, such as an incandescent bulb. What type of bulb are you switching?

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 01:29 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way illuminated switch


I am using a 40 or 60 watt incandescent bulb.
Bear1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 03:04 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3 way illuminated switch


Try using only one of the new switches. The problem could be the extra resistance of using both swiches in series.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 06:52 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3 way illuminated switch


Some switches require a neutral in the box for illumination.
Chevyman30571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 07:37 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way illuminated switch


I don't understand what you mean by neutral? Please explain
Bear1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 01:59 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3 way illuminated switch


What model number that switch you have there ??

Due some of the lighted switch handle some are designed to come on with the load is on { that type set up will required netural }

Some are designed to have the toggle or rocker handle light up when the luminaire is off { this set up do not need netural at all and NOT with CFL or LED bulbs }

so once you posted the model numbers one of us will tell you the straight answer on this one.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 06:45 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 way illuminated switch


Not sure where to find the model number but it is a Decora light switch made by Leviton.
Bear1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 10:01 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3 way illuminated switch


Quote:
I don't understand what you mean by neutral? Please explain
The neutral is, in terms that I understand, the grounded conductor. It is typically (if code compliant) encased in white insulation (in the US, at least).

Quote:
Not sure where to find the model number but it is a Decora light switch made by Leviton
I would look either at the user manual, or the back of the device, itself. Alternatively, a physical description of the wires coming from your new switches might also be useful.

It sounds like a real possibility that you have your commons and travelers mixed up. Do you remember which wire went to the black screw of your old switch?

Advertisement

oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
Wiring 2 light fixtures to same switch and add outlet RyanS2000 Electrical 13 10-10-2010 03:17 AM
3-way switch help amit Electrical 17 02-15-2010 04:17 PM
Hunter Fan Dual Switch Wiring Configuration Help schierle Electrical 2 03-29-2009 09:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts