Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2008, 08:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

3 way dimmer help


I just installed a dimmer switch into my dining room. The room has 2 switches. The first switch I replaced with the dimmer. The second switch is a regular toggle flip switch. It seems that only one switch can control the lights. One switch can turn on and off the lights, while the other won't be able to turn on the lights. Is there something wrong with the current of the poles? What else could be wrong?
townpump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 08:36 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

3 way dimmer help


Quote:
Originally Posted by townpump View Post
I just installed a dimmer switch into my dining room. The room has 2 switches. The first switch I replaced with the dimmer. The second switch is a regular toggle flip switch. It seems that only one switch can control the lights. One switch can turn on and off the lights, while the other won't be able to turn on the lights. Is there something wrong with the current of the poles? What else could be wrong?

You messed up the travelers on the 3 way you installed.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 08:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default

3 way dimmer help


I have tried to rearrange it numerous ways.
Any other possibilities.
townpump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 09:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Default

3 way dimmer help


Did you take the initiative to mark the power and travelers before removing the original switches.
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 09:14 PM   #5
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 351
Default

3 way dimmer help


Does it work correctly if you reinstall the old switch?

Are you using a three way dimmer? (not a single pole one..)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JGarth View Post
Did you take the initiative to mark the power and travelers before removing the original switches.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 09:28 PM   #6
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

3 way dimmer help


Quote:
Are you using a three way dimmer? (not a single pole one..)

Your new dimmer should have three wires and a ground.
A single pole will have two wires and a ground.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 09:35 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default

3 way dimmer help


The 3 way dimmer is a multi-pole. It has 4 wires. I unfortunately didn't write down what wires were what. When I replace the old switches, they don't work properly.
townpump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 09:42 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

3 way dimmer help


Quote:
Originally Posted by townpump View Post
I unfortunately didn't write down what wires were what.
Looks like you better call someone more qualified...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 10:55 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

3 way dimmer help


what kind of dimmer you have ??

maybe one of us can help ya

some 3 way dimmer do have master and slave units they are little tricky to get wired right

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 11:31 AM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

3 way dimmer help


Try to give us more information. Like Marc said, we will try to help you. Look at these diagrams for an idea of how three way switches are wired.

http://www.thecircuitdetective.com/3...htm#threebasic

If you are not comfortable with any of this, please call an electrician. No sense getting hurt just to save some money.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing A Dimmer badgerbrian1974 Electrical 8 02-17-2008 09:15 PM
dimmer switch circuit wiring stan_d_bballman Electrical 2 11-16-2007 11:44 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 03:52 PM
OK to user a dimmer with ceiling light? FreeCashBack.co.uk Electrical 2 06-19-2005 09:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.