3-WAY~Continuing ED - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2014, 12:04 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


Just trying to further my understanding.

Would PIC 2 work the same as PIC 1?

EDIT See post 3 for corrected pic
Attached Thumbnails
3-WAY~Continuing ED-3-wayonline.jpg   3-WAY~Continuing ED-3waytest.jpg  

Advertisement

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.

Last edited by sirsparksalot; 02-06-2014 at 12:12 AM.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 12:06 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


Nevermind i got it wrong

Advertisement

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 12:12 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


Here's corrected version
Attached Thumbnails
3-WAY~Continuing ED-3waytest.jpg  
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 01:42 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


Those are not between the switches. That shows a dead end three way.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (02-06-2014)
Old 02-06-2014, 02:01 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


A "dead end three way"? Are you referring to my wiring, or the original?

Will my wiring work?

To keep things simple, for me, I always try to find ways to run 3-wire between switches without going through the lighting fixture.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 08:44 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


The new drawing will work. However it does not meet the new code requirement for neutral conductor at the switch.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (02-06-2014)
Old 02-06-2014, 10:08 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


Thanks guys,

Would still like to know what the term "dead end three-way" means.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 02:06 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


The drawing in post#3 is a dead end three way. One of the three way switches is at the end of the cable, a dead end.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 03:25 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


The first diagram doesn't result in a neutral conductor into the second switch box either. How would you wire either of these arrangements to get a neutral in both switch boxes?
northernlite is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 03:46 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


Quote:
Originally Posted by northernlite View Post
The first diagram doesn't result in a neutral conductor into the second switch box either. How would you wire either of these arrangements to get a neutral in both switch boxes?
Did you not see this: EDIT See post 3 for corrected pic which I posted in #1?
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 03:50 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


Quote:
Originally Posted by northernlite View Post
The first diagram doesn't result in a neutral conductor into the second switch box either. How would you wire either of these arrangements to get a neutral in both switch boxes?
You would need to use a four wire cable with a white or choose a different wiring method that would result in the neutral passing through the switch box. One example would be to connect the light to the second switch instead of the first one.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
northernlite (02-06-2014)
Old 02-06-2014, 03:53 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
Did you not see this: EDIT See post 3 for corrected pic which I posted in #1?
I did. Guess I'm missing or misunderstanding something though, or I'm just dense. I don't see a neutral at the second box.
northernlite is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 03:56 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


Thanks joed. got it.
I set up my whole wiring plans to bring power into the switches as per the diagram shown. damn. o well it's all still open. adapt and overcome.

I know it's not code in Canada (yet) to need neutrals in each box but might as well try...
northernlite is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 04:16 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3-WAY~Continuing ED


Quote:
Originally Posted by northernlite View Post
I did. Guess I'm missing or misunderstanding something though, or I'm just dense. I don't see a neutral at the second box.
I'm sorry, I thought you were referring to the typo in my 1st post, but you were asking about neutrals being in both switches. I apologize.

Advertisement

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sirsparksalot For This Useful Post:
northernlite (02-06-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts