Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2010, 10:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Rewards Points: 150
Default

3 way, 4 way, Single Pole/3-Way Combinations


I have 3 switched controlling a ceiling fan light.
The power comes into the first 3 way switch.
Then it goes to a 4 way switch.
Then it goes to the last 3 way switch with a single pole switch before reaching the light.
The last 3 way switch has a single pole switch below the light switch. I want the single pole switch to control the fan.

I have all the lights working perfectly but depending on which one of the 3 switches is turned on/off determines if the single pole fan switch will turn on the fan.

I did not break the tab on the combination single pole/3 way switch.
So the power feed that feeds the light also feeds the fan.


The last switch looks like this

http://tinyurl.com/2b82h66


http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CDoQ8wIwAw#

Do I need to break the tab and have another single power line going to the fan?
Any ideas?


TIA

Slash

slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 10:50 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3 way, 4 way, Single Pole/3-Way Combinations


you need to feed a full time hot to the single pole section of the switch. The only "hot" you are getting to the switch now is actually a switch leg that as you have found, turns on and off.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 10:57 PM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 way, 4 way, Single Pole/3-Way Combinations


And to get a full-time hot, you'll need to string another wire to that box. Is there anything else in the same junction box as that last switch? An outlet below it?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 09:03 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,855
Rewards Points: 2,504
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3 way, 4 way, Single Pole/3-Way Combinations


You need to run four wire cable from the first switch through the four way to second three way or you will not have an unswitched power wire for the single pole switch. Or you could bring power into the last three way instead of the first three way.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 07:01 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Rewards Points: 150
Default

3 way, 4 way, Single Pole/3-Way Combinations


Thanks for all the replies. I have another switch for my basement lights that I think I can pull a power feed.

I guess the 4 way switch was causing the problem.

Thanks again.

Slash
slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 07:21 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

3 way, 4 way, Single Pole/3-Way Combinations


Actually you would have the same dilemma without the 4 way switch between the two 3 way switches.

That is, if power enters one of the switches and the light/fan/other equipment connected to the other.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Pole vs. Double Pole Thermostat dforeid Electrical 14 08-26-2012 08:12 AM
Want to add a single phase Subpanel to three Phase Main meglomachinist Electrical 19 09-10-2009 03:46 PM
Sub Panel Main Lug Load Center - Single Phase ? Roy Rowlett Electrical 21 08-20-2009 06:55 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM
Feeding multiple subpanels with a single generator monsoon Electrical 8 10-02-2007 04:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.