Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2008, 04:04 PM   #1
Video Guy
 
SillyGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 5
Share |
Question

3-Way to 2-Way


Tricky situation for me because I am not too familiar with the 3-way switch. Basically, there was a 3-way switch in my guest bedroom that controlled two different plug outlets. I have installed some can lights in the room and what I want to do is make the plug on all the time and now have the lights operating from the switch, but not make it a 3-way switch, I want it to be a regular, single pole switch. Which wires do I need to nut together to get the plugs to always be on?

Thanks

SillyGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 04:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Default

3-Way to 2-Way


How many wires, and what colors are in the switch box?

FW

fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 04:18 PM   #3
Video Guy
 
SillyGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 5
Default

3-Way to 2-Way


I will have to post some pictures of it. Its more complicated than I once though.
SillyGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 04:38 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,454
Default

3-Way to 2-Way


You will need to open both switches and tell us all the wires in both switch boxes and the receptacles. Also which switch is the new cable for the pot lights going into?
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 08:06 PM   #5
Video Guy
 
SillyGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 5
Question

3-Way to 2-Way


OK, here are the pictures with all the wires labeled. I do not know why but there are some instances where the white wire is nutted in with the ground. I am no electrician but that doesn't seem right. Anyways, here are the pictures; The primary shot is where the new switch will be put in along with all the previous wiring. The secondary shows what was plugged into the other switch. I want to get rid of the secondary all together but it if you all remember, it is used to control some plugs so I have to nut some wires together so those plugs still work. Thanks in advance for the help guys!

SillyGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 10:14 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,454
Default

3-Way to 2-Way


Three way switches have three wire connected to them. I only see two that look like they were on the switch. Neutrals and grounds connected together is absolutley wrong and needs to be corrected. You have some major issues that need to be addressed.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 09:46 AM   #7
Video Guy
 
SillyGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 5
Default

3-Way to 2-Way


I am really starting to hate the electricians who did my house back in 1976.

SillyGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.