Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2009, 05:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Share |
Default

3 wall outlets read "open ground"


I replaced all the wall outlets in my house and checked all the outlets with a circuit tester. They all showed fine except for 3 of them (in bedroom and bathroom). What do I need to do to make it not read "open ground" and to make it correct?

proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 05:39 PM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

3 wall outlets read "open ground"


Go back to the closest outlet that has a ground and pull out and check the ground wires maybe the wire broke off or something, Check that they are twisted together good and have a green wire nut or pigtail or copper crimp to ensure they have good connection.

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 06:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 155
Default

3 wall outlets read "open ground"


Pigtail the grounds to the ground screw on the outlets.
jayp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 06:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

3 wall outlets read "open ground"


Quote:
Originally Posted by jayp View Post
Pigtail the grounds to the ground screw on the outlets.
Yes, I've checked that and they're all pigtailed to the ground properly.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 06:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

3 wall outlets read "open ground"


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
Go back to the closest outlet that has a ground and pull out and check the ground wires maybe the wire broke off or something, Check that they are twisted together good and have a green wire nut or pigtail or copper crimp to ensure they have good connection.
Yes, I've checked that and they all have a good connection.

Any other ideas?
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 06:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 254
Default

3 wall outlets read "open ground"


Did they test OK before ?
tribe_fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 06:57 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

3 wall outlets read "open ground"


Quote:
Originally Posted by tribe_fan View Post
Did they test OK before ?
They had never been tested before.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 08:12 PM   #8
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 501
Default

3 wall outlets read "open ground"


Quote:
Originally Posted by proofer View Post
They had never been tested before.
It is possible they were never grounded. How old is the house? If there is no ground, install a GFCI. At least then there will be some protection from ground faults. One GFCI (the first in series) if they are all on the same circuit. Three individual GFCIs otherwise.
Bigplanz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 12:02 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

3 wall outlets read "open ground"


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigplanz View Post
It is possible they were never grounded. How old is the house? If there is no ground, install a GFCI. At least then there will be some protection from ground faults. One GFCI (the first in series) if they are all on the same circuit. Three individual GFCIs otherwise.

It could be possible that they were never grounded. This particular part of the house was added on in 1980. We'll look into it further and if we can't figure it out, we'll go with that GFCI approach. Thanks.

proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to cover over brick wall in basement? tigereye Remodeling 4 04-14-2009 10:24 PM
Half-height Cinder Block wall Electrical theatretch85 Electrical 11 04-08-2009 11:49 PM
Outlets on both sides of wall? and height question DIYGST Electrical 10 02-08-2009 06:11 PM
~HELP~ Basement Wall is bowing earthad1 Building & Construction 6 06-05-2008 12:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.