3 Switches, 1 Power Feed, 2 Boxes - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2011, 08:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


I have 3 lighting banks on 3 switches, fed from 1 circuit. light bank #1 consists of 2 pot lights, #2 a ceiling fan, and #3 3 pot lights. I don't need them to be 3 or 4 way switched. but I am stumped on how to feed them to make them work.

Advertisement

stumped586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 08:47 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


So what are you trying to do? Your posting doesn't give us much to work with. Are you wiring new circuits or are you redoing old circuits. Why did you mention 3 and 4 way switches?

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 08:50 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


I have gutted my cottage and rewired it to bring it up to code. all walls are open and all power and lighting circuits and breakers are new. I mentioned 3 and 4 way switching because the location of the lights looks like that might be logical but I just want each bank switched separately but from 1 circuit but all 3 are independent. Does that help? thanks for replying to my post.
stumped586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 08:58 PM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


Helps a lot
Do you want the three switches together in a three gang box?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:01 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


I have bank #1 with the 2 pot lights and bank 2 with the ceiling fan in 1-2 gang box and across the room I have the switch for the 3 pot lights. power feed comes into box 1 with the 2 switches and then out to the box across the room.
stumped586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:09 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


Switch box #2 - You should have a cable coming from the lite to the switch. Connect the two whites together and connect one black to each switch screw.

Switch box #1 - connect the whites together like above and connect the black from each light to a screw on each switch. For power you will have add two pigtails to the black power feed and then connect one to each switch.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:14 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


I think its more complicated than that. Box 1 has 4 cables, 1- power in, 1 power out to box 2, lights in and fan in. box 2 has power in from box 1 and lights in. So I have lots of neutrals, grounds and hots in box 1.
stumped586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:19 PM   #8
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


My description covers what you are telling me. In box 1 you will have four white wires under one wire nut, four blacks under a wire nut (two wires and two pigtails).
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:20 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


thank you then. I will give it a try. Tanks again.
stumped586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:22 PM   #10
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


What size wire are you using?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:37 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


12/2-all 20 amp circuits
stumped586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:40 PM   #12
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


If this will be inspected you may have problems with box fill.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:41 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


i do have a permit for this and it will be inspected. and yes the box is very full
stumped586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:43 PM   #14
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


Do you know how to calculate box fill?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:44 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 switches, 1 power feed, 2 boxes


not a clue. I am a diy'er. above average skills but still not a pro

Advertisement

stumped586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boxes recessed too deep rondo Electrical 10 12-01-2012 07:46 PM
Help with Two Switches & Two Lights simplyphp Electrical 36 11-25-2010 03:47 PM
power to "half" the house dogvila Electrical 8 07-13-2010 10:04 PM
Add more power to the house? (kinda long) tmtrebor Electrical 5 04-30-2010 04:19 PM
power panel missing, all receptacles & switches removed shortsell Electrical 2 03-24-2010 11:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts