Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-22-2009, 11:21 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Share |
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


Hey all,

Looking for some advice... i recently had some work done in preperation of a kitchen remodel. The old wire for the oven was left untouched and the electrician assured me it was ok to use. He caped it with a three prong outlet but I've been reading up that the standard for modern oven is 4 prong!? Is this correct or will i have to open up the wall again? He seemed confident that this is fine.

Please advice, just want to make sure i'm ok here?

Much thanks!

Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 11:23 AM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey_Oakland View Post
Hey all,

Looking for some info here, i recently had some work done in preperation of a kitchen remodel. The old wire for the oven was left untouched and the electrician assured me it was ok to use. He caped it with a three prong outlet but I've been reading up that the standard for modern oven is 4 prong!? Is this correct or will i have to open up the wall again? He seemed confident that this is fine.

Please advice, just want to make sure it's ok?

Much thanks!
With a few exceptions its legal... wanna know the exceptions?

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 11:25 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


please...

and what happens when i buy a new oven?
Do i have to outfit it with a diferent cord to fit the 3 prong?

Thanks!
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 11:29 AM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey_Oakland View Post
please...

and what happens when i buy a new oven?
Do i have to outfit it with a diferent cord to fit the 3 prong?

Thanks!
Ranges do not come with cords installed on them, so you just reuse your 3 wire cord. Stubbie has some great pics on the correct bonding procedure.


Here are the exceptions...

250.140 Frames of Ranges and Clothes Dryers
Frames of electric ranges, wall-mounted ovens, counter-mounted cooking units, clothes
dryers, and outlet or junction boxes that are part of the circuit for these appliances shall
be grounded in the manner specified by 250.134 or 250.138.
Exception: For existing branch circuit installations only where an equipment grounding
conductor is not present in the outlet or junction box, the frames of electric ranges, wallmounted
ovens, counter-mounted cooking units, clothes dryers, and outlet or junction
boxes that are part of the circuit for these appliances shall be permitted to be grounded
to the grounded circuit conductor if all the following conditions are met.

(1) The supply circuit is 120/240-volt, single-phase, 3-wire; or 208Y/120-volt derived
from a 3-phase, 4-wire, wye-connected system.

(2) The grounded conductor is not smaller than 10 AWG copper or 8 AWG aluminum.

(3) The grounded conductor is insulated, or the grounded conductor is uninsulated and
part of a Type SE service-entrance cable and the branch circuit originates at the
service equipment.

(4) Grounding contacts of receptacles furnished as part of the equipment are bonded to
the equipment.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 11:34 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


well...

That is a bit over my head but i feel reassured it is exceptable.
He did mention the ground wire and seemed very competent and confident it was safe.

I just want to make sure when I get the new stove I can successfully connect and it's ok to use.

Last edited by Casey_Oakland; 02-22-2009 at 11:45 AM.
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 12:01 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey_Oakland View Post
well...

That is a bit over my head but i feel reassured it is exceptable.
He did mention the ground wire and seemed very competent and confident it was safe.

I just want to make sure when I get the new stove I can successfully connect and it's ok to use.

As long as you had an electrican do the work, I would say you have a better than nothing that its correct.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 12:03 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


Relieved.. THANK YOU!
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 12:23 PM   #8
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,876
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


Hello Casey

Your new range will likely come configured for a three wire connection but you need to look carefully to be sure of this and carefully read your instructions as to the electrical requirements. You are allowed to reuse an existing 3 wire branch circuit under the conditions Chris posted.

Anyway the instructions will give you specific detail on how to convert the range and how it is configured from the factory...3 wire or 4 wire. If it is 3 wire configured you will simply need to purchase a 3 wire range cord connect it to your stove and plug it in. If it is 4 wire configured you will need to remove the bonding jumper from the neutral terminal on the range terminal block to the metal fram of the range. Manufacturers use different methods for this bonding jumper. Can be a metal strap, or a green and yellow striped wire etc. All this will be explained in the installation instructions. I'll post a few diagrams so you can get a feel as to what you will be looking for and this should help you understand the process.

First diagram is a 3 wire to 4 wire range connection

Second is a 3 wire connection usually how they come from the factory and will simply install a 3 wire range cord and plug into an existing 3 wire receptacle.
Attached Thumbnails
3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?-range-4-wire-stubbie.jpg   3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?-3-wire-range-connection.jpg  
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-22-2009 at 12:36 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 12:28 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


Stubbie!
Huge help man!!!
Thank you so much!!!
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 12:34 PM   #10
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,876
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


Casey

I had the drawings reversed so I just changed the post to reflect the 3 wire is the second drawing.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 09:58 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


My problem is reversed there Mr. Stubbie...

My new range already has the 4-prong cord attached, and the outlet is 3-prong. I'm presuming I can pull the 3-prong cord from the old unit, and connect it to my new one...

BUT, which 'terminal' on the new stove is gonna' get left out? (or, do 2 of the terminals get bridged???)

EDIT:
Just found this elsewhere:
Quote:
The center terminal on the plug, indeed, needs to be connected to the white wire and the red and black wires to the side terminals. You need to connect a ground wire preferably green from someplace on the stove to the grounding connection on the plug. The stove will work just fine without it but if something goes wrong with the internal wiring of the stove, the chassis could become "hot" and the breaker wouldn't trip. Should that happen, you could get shocked with 120 V when you touch the range and something that is grounded at ...(Answered by dlmrgnk)
The grounding connection on the plug = neutral terminal on the 'range terminal block'?

Last edited by Schrade; 05-20-2009 at 10:14 PM.
Schrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 12:37 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


Quote:
Originally Posted by fast1 View Post
wow you actually drew that?
Stubbie has a plethora of drawings and diagrams for just about anything. A lot of drawings and diagrams especially for sub panel setups and the many different requirements that go along with each setup configuration.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 01:19 AM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey_Oakland View Post
well...

That is a bit over my head but i feel reassured it is exceptable.
He did mention the ground wire and seemed very competent and confident it was safe......
One note here: IF a "ground wire" is present, you have to use a 4-wire connection on the new appliance. The exception in the Code only applies if your ground wire is not present.

Ask your electrician for clarification --- are there 3 or 4 conductors present in the junction box?
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 08:04 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


old post but info still very much needed..

The cable itself has three wires and is rather old looking but functional..

Is that what you mean?

Not sure what it looks like in the junction box?
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 09:11 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default

3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET?


Bumpin' here; post is gettin' buried already...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schrade View Post
My problem is reversed there Mr. Stubbie...

My new range already has the 4-prong cord attached, and the outlet is 3-prong. I'm presuming I can pull the 3-prong cord from the old unit, and connect it to my new one...

BUT, which 'terminal' on the new stove is gonna' get left out? (or, do 2 of the terminals get bridged???)

EDIT:
Just found this elsewhere:
Quote:
The center terminal on the plug, indeed, needs to be connected to the white wire and the red and black wires to the side terminals. You need to connect a ground wire preferably green from someplace on the stove to the grounding connection on the plug. The stove will work just fine without it but if something goes wrong with the internal wiring of the stove, the chassis could become "hot" and the breaker wouldn't trip. Should that happen, you could get shocked with 120 V when you touch the range and something that is grounded at ...(Answered by dlmrgnk)
The grounding connection on the plug = neutral terminal on the 'range terminal block'?

"old post ... AND, info still very..."
Quote:
old post but info still very much needed..
Your local grammar nazi @ work yup...


Last edited by Schrade; 05-21-2009 at 09:14 AM.
Schrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SCARY oven fire! Why did it burn? Beth777 Appliances 70 12-08-2013 09:49 PM
Changing 2 Prong To 3 Prong Outlet JAVAMAN Electrical 38 12-02-2012 06:32 AM
how to move elec outlet in oven cabinet noodle Electrical 1 09-27-2008 07:40 AM
Range outlet pushes oven too far from wall givemeabreak Electrical 8 08-19-2008 12:14 AM
dryer Outlet change 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate General DIY Discussions 2 08-06-2008 06:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.