Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-10-2008, 10:00 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

3 prong range?

I have basic electrical knowledge....this is an attempt at a more complicated DIY....

I have a condo built in 1964. It had a slide-in range (original to the unit), that is being replced with a new Frigidaire range (convection, stainless...high end range).

The old range had a metal box that held the power cords. They come out of the wall wrapped together, in a rubber tube.

Three wires: 2 black (I assume hot) and one bare copper braided wire (very thick...not the typical thin ground Im used to).

I bought a three prong outlet from Home Depot, and connected the two black wire to the outer terminals (hot) and the braided copper wire to the neutral (center) terminal. I then had a ground (small copper wire, green) that connected that neutral terminal to the ground screw on the box.

The range is being delivered nect week...but I wanted to find out if I did this correctly or not? Thanks for the help

laduehelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 10:54 AM   #2

3 prong range?

Actually the old unit is a drop-in....I believe it was hard wired....

Old 03-10-2008, 11:43 AM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES

Rewards Points: 2,054

3 prong range?

Quote:
I bought a three prong outlet from Home Depot, and connected the two black wire to the outer terminals (hot) and the braided copper wire to the neutral (center) terminal. I then had a ground (small copper wire, green) that connected that neutral terminal to the ground screw on the box.
This is all wrong. If your new range is 120/240 volt you are going to have to run new cable from the breaker panel to the range location. The existing wiring you have is 240 volt only and you cannot connect the bare equipment ground to the neutral of the receptacle....very unwise.