Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2012, 09:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

3 prong outlets


I'm changing from 2 to 3 prong outlets. there are the two power wires connected to the old outlet and a set of three wires running through the metel box. Black, white, and red. I can't tell if they are attached to the box itself. The main power box has a firm ground in place. Am I safe to connect a wire from the green connector to the metel box and get ground?

Bob

Boboppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 09:51 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,968
Default

3 prong outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Boboppa View Post
I'm changing from 2 to 3 prong outlets. Am I safe to connect a wire from the green connector to the metel box and get ground?

Bob
Depends on the wiring method used, if the old BX actually has a bonding strip contained within the jacket, then yes, you can bond the device to the box... if you are unsure of this, just install a GFCI device.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:14 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 241
Default

3 prong outlets


(Carefully!) check with a multimeter while the circuit is hot, red probe to the black/hot, and black probe to the metal box. If it shows 120v, it's probably grounded.
matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:33 AM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,656
Default

3 prong outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Boboppa View Post
I'm changing from 2 to 3 prong outlets.
The main power box has a firm ground in place.
Take a picture of the cables that attach to that "main power box".
(to be clear: the box where the circuit breakers are)

If the cables are anything other than metal... you're totally sunk.
If they are certain kinds of metal you might be lucky.

Quote:
Am I safe to connect a wire from the green connector to the metel box and get ground?
Maybe (see above)... but not likely.

Quote:
a set of three wires running through the metal box...Black, white, and red.
We can get back to this later
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
New Home: 2 Prong Outlets & K&T Wiring (Maybe) weekley14 Electrical 4 05-29-2012 07:56 AM
Changing two prong electrical outlets to grounded three prongs Jabar714 Electrical 4 12-21-2010 01:14 AM
Replace 2 prong outlets with 3 prong outlets rpsjn4 Electrical 27 01-17-2010 01:34 PM
1990 Bounder Motorhome 3 prong outlets actally have no ground connected!! Help! Holering Electrical 5 03-30-2009 12:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.