3-Prong Outlet No Ground - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2012, 09:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 254
Rewards Points: 172
Default

3-Prong Outlet No Ground


in my 1950's house, i have one 3-prong outlet that has no ground wire. all the other 3-prong outlets in my house have it.

should i be concerned with this one outlet? what are the negatives of not having ground wire?

Advertisement

Scully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3-Prong Outlet No Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scully
in my 1950's house, i have one 3-prong outlet that has no ground wire. all the other 3-prong outlets in my house have it.

should i be concerned with this one outlet? what are the negatives of not having ground wire?
Please search this site for similar threads there should be quite a few.

Advertisement

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:30 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,706
Rewards Points: 528
Default

3-Prong Outlet No Ground


Has the wiring been up graded and new wires run to the outlets or did someone just illegally change the outlets from two, to three hole outlets?
Without a ground it is possible to be killed if you were ever to get shocked. Also it could be detrimental to any modern electronics.
One easy way to protect yourself is to just change it out to a GFI. Still would not be grounded but it would not kill you.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 254
Rewards Points: 172
Default

3-Prong Outlet No Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Has the wiring been up graded and new wires run to the outlets or did someone just illegally change the outlets from two, to three hole outlets?
Without a ground it is possible to be killed if you were ever to get shocked. Also it could be detrimental to any modern electronics.
One easy way to protect yourself is to just change it out to a GFI. Still would not be grounded but it would not kill you.
every single outlet has a copper wire to the ground except for this one outlet. the copper wire looks new so it could be an upgrade.
Scully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:43 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,985
Rewards Points: 2,768
Default

3-Prong Outlet No Ground


This might be as simple as a loose or missing connection upstream from this receptacle.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:56 PM   #6
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

3-Prong Outlet No Ground


Well you could either replace it with an ungrounded outlet or a gfi
Do you plan on ever using a grounded plug in that particular area,generally a grounded plug is only affective when a grounded cord is plugged into it

Advertisement

__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing 2 Prong To 3 Prong Outlet JAVAMAN Electrical 38 12-02-2012 07:32 AM
small secondary countertop outlet issue rasz Electrical 8 11-07-2011 05:14 PM
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 10:13 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 09:40 AM
dryer Outlet change 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate General DIY Discussions 2 08-06-2008 07:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts