Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2011, 12:03 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 prong dryer to 4 prong issue


Hey guys,

I am changing a 3 prong dryer cord to a 4 prong cord.

There is no bonding jumper.

Instead there is a green wire that is attached by a screw to the frame.

If I follow this green wire back it attaches to the white "nuetral" wire like I think I should expect.

I need to attach the new green "ground wire" for the new 4 prong cord...

...but what do I do with the previous green wire that is in its spot?

Please help.

Thank you.

KC

titan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:27 AM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

3 prong dryer to 4 prong issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by titan View Post
Hey guys,

I am changing a 3 prong dryer cord to a 4 prong cord.

There is no bonding jumper.

Instead there is a green wire that is attached by a screw to the frame.

If I follow this green wire back it attaches to the white "nuetral" wire like I think I should expect.

I need to attach the new green "ground wire" for the new 4 prong cord...

...but what do I do with the previous green wire that is in its spot?

Please help.

Thank you.

KC
Very simple. The green wire is the bonding jumper instead of a metal strap. Remove it from the grounding screw on the frame and cap it or wrap it in electrical tape or cut the terminal end and run a wire nut on it. Now attach the green wire in the power cord under the frame grounding screw... your done. Kinda similar to the below diagram only your green bonding wire does not terminate at the terminal block .. instead it is terminated to the neutral elsewhere.
Attached Thumbnails
3 prong dryer to 4 prong issue-4-wire-dryer-option-1.jpg  

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 03-07-2011 at 12:33 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
titan (03-07-2011)
Old 03-07-2011, 06:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 prong dryer to 4 prong issue


Thank you. I figured this this what I needed to do bubt wanted to make sure.

I appreciate your help.

KC
titan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 08:50 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 prong dryer to 4 prong issue


I have this same issue. Can I screw the new green (attached to the new 4 prong cord) to the external ground and leave the green ground wire that is already there screwed in underneath it?
sfranchu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:11 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,340
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

3 prong dryer to 4 prong issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by sfranchu View Post
I have this same issue. Can I screw the new green (attached to the new 4 prong cord) to the external ground and leave the green ground wire that is already there screwed in underneath it?
No, you need to do what Stubbie stated in the reply to the OP.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 10:36 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 prong dryer to 4 prong issue


ok. I've got it all hooked up like Stubbie said to. Turned it on & it blows air, but does not heat. It looks like one of my "hot" wires is fried. Apparently this dryer that was advertised as "works great" wasn't in such great working condition. What can I do? Can I replace the fried wire?
sfranchu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 11:13 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,340
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

3 prong dryer to 4 prong issue


Are you sure that it is not something else. If you are getting 240 across L1 & L2, and 120 across L1 & Neutral, same for L2 & Neutral, then yes your machine may be bad, and you will have to contact where you bought it from.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 11:24 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 prong dryer to 4 prong issue


Yes, everything checks out voltage-wise. I bought it used off craigslist and am probably screwed that way.
So I have come to the conclusion that the problem is internal heating. Any ideas where to start?
sfranchu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 11:47 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3 prong dryer to 4 prong issue


Most electrique dryers AFAIK they will have a thermal fuse in the heating element area so if it was overheated before for some reason it will blow the thermal fuse so prevent from the heater kicking on after you verify the source is legit 120 / 240 volts.

The only way you can get into the thermal fuse with most of Américane dryers typically in the back so you will have to open up the top and maybe back and some case may have to remove the dryer drum depending on what brand name and where the thermal fuse is located.

However there is one serious warning make sure you unplug the dryer before you take anything apart there is few exposed termails points so be aware with it.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:23 AM   #10
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

3 prong dryer to 4 prong issue


Replacing the heating element in a dryer is usually not hard. An appliance repair shop that services that brand can get you the part.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to avoid condensation in exterior wall when enclosing washer/dryer pemn Remodeling 6 12-01-2010 03:35 PM
Dryer with no heat/House power issue Raygun Electrical 15 03-03-2010 12:26 PM
Gas Dryer - Electric Dryer gannys General DIY Discussions 8 10-13-2008 05:50 PM
New electric dryer is blowing breaker! minameismud Electrical 7 09-14-2008 11:45 PM
Location of 220 and 110 outlets for dryer and washer JAJJ Electrical 2 08-07-2006 10:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.