3 Phase Electrical Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2010, 04:17 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 phase electrical question


I had a problem over the weekend and was wondering if anyone can help me figure out why this happened. I have a 3 phase 200 amp meter and one of the fuses blew on the meter. At the time it blew, I was running two cargo refrigeration units and each units is rated at 26 amps and max load of 75 amps.

When I went to the office this morning, I noticed that they were not on, and the machine read "low" on the digital read out. So, I called my electrician and he came out and pulled the fuse and one of the three loads was popped.

Now from what I know, fuses only pop if there is too much power going through them or there is a short somewhere. I checked the wiring and there is no short, do you think I am running too much power out of these units for the 3 phase meter to handle? I just don't want this to be a recurring theme. Thanks. Is it possible that the fuse was old and just needed replacement?

Advertisement

kamdavs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 07:06 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

3 phase electrical question


I have to say, if your electricians could not answer these questions for you you need to find a new electrician.

Advertisement

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 04:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

3 phase electrical question


Have the refrigeration units themselves been inspected? One could be low on Freon or have some other condition causing it to draw more current than it should and there was an instance when both tried to start at the same time, thus causing a genuine fuse blow.

Are there other appliances or tools being used with that panel?
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 10-19-2010 at 04:28 PM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3 phase connection , 3 phase meter , blown fuse


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Electrical Box Insurance Question bailey35 Electrical 4 06-29-2010 02:58 PM
well pump electrical multimeter question tpolk Electrical 21 04-28-2010 11:37 PM
Question about electrical shock chewing cords sljacobs Electrical 12 02-25-2010 10:36 AM
Electrical Panel "cut-in" question Todd-sta Electrical 52 12-04-2008 12:07 AM
3 phase panel question curse21 Electrical 2 08-18-2004 11:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts