Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2010, 09:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

3 phase disconnect


I have a main disconnect that serves 2 panels. The disconnect carries to pull out fuse blocks of three 200 amp fuses apiece for each leg. I was wondering if there was something on the market that would allow me to change out the two blocks of fuses for breakers because I tired of buying these fuses at $40 apiece.

Ryno133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 09:30 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

3 phase disconnect


You need an I-Line distribution panel.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 09:30 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,782
Default

3 phase disconnect


The first issue to address is why you are having to replace the fuses at all.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 09:56 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

3 phase disconnect


The key issue is you have to check out the system and find out why you are blowing the fuses in first place .

Overload or what ??

If overload you have to figure it out how to reduce the load on that affected circuit.

If no overload then you may have loose fuseholder when it get hot it will trip or blow early.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 11:53 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,778
Default

3 phase disconnect


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
The first issue to address is why you are having to replace the fuses at all.
The second issue is WHY are you working on a 3-phase system?

A 200A fuse should NOT be $40 either.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 04:54 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

3 phase disconnect


i seriously doubt that if their worried about $40 dollar fuses(seems high) they want to spend the money on an I-line but that's definately the way to go.
As has been said many times already
A. do not work on 3 phase like it's a DIY project(especially at large amperages).
B. the fuses are blowing for a reason....find out what it is

hopefully if enough people say it it'll become reality
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 06:06 PM   #7
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

3 phase disconnect


Wow, everything I was going to say has been said.

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1 phase to 3 phase diesel boy Electrical 12 05-05-2010 11:57 AM
30A Air Conditioner Disconnect JPWMU Electrical 6 04-19-2010 03:55 PM
Want to add a single phase Subpanel to three Phase Main meglomachinist Electrical 19 09-10-2009 03:46 PM
How to power a 120/240 volt 3 phase oven in a building with 120/240 volt single phase wantsomegetsome Electrical 9 05-04-2009 10:49 AM
120/208/1 phase wiring questions JohnJon Electrical 11 08-31-2008 11:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.