Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-01-2007, 05:33 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

3 phase anyone?

Hi all,

I am new to this so please bear with me. I am writing from Australia so we are talking 240V single phase and 415V 3-phase.

Here comes the problem:

I bought a 3 phase welder off a friend for $150, quite a steal. The cooling fan wasn't working and after checking the wiring I found that it was wired up wrong. I assume that the motor is just a normal single phase fan similar to the ones used in a bathroom. After checking on the net I was surprised to find that it is quite possible to run single phase off a 3 phase supply...so I experimented...

Wikipedia says:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Three-phase_electric_power

"Single-phase loads
Single-phase loads may be connected to a three-phase system, either by connecting across two live conductors (a phase-to-phase connection), or by connecting between a phase conductor and the system neutral, which is either connected to the center of the Y (star) secondary winding of the supply transformer, or is connected to the center of one winding of a delta transformer (Highleg Delta system). (see Transformer#Polyphase transformers and Split phase ) Single-phase loads should be distributed evenly between the phases of the three-phase system for efficient use of the supply transformer and supply conductors."

I have a 20A 3 phase connector with L1, L2, L3 and Earth (no neutral in the middle) coming into the welder. I had 2 wires and an Earth coming from the fan so I connected L1 to the first and L2 to the second wire and Earth was connected to the case...AND...it worked!

But there is a "however"! I also hooked up 2 240V powerpoints to be able to plug in an angle grinder or something at the front of the welder...just to be fancy.