Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2011, 09:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 phase 6 wire motor


hope you folks can help me here

i have u v w x y z marked on the wires want to run on low voltage

currently

L1- u L2- v L3- w x-y-z


thinking

L1-u-x
L2-V-Y
L3-W-Z

ANYONE conferm it??

thanks stace

stace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 02:37 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3 phase 6 wire motor


It is pretty close however do you have nameplate on the motour? if so that will really assist you on the connection diagram

I know that is older format and modern are lettered diffrent.

The modern connection will be U1 & W2 on L1 while V1 & U2 on L2 and W1 &V2 on L3

the old one is:

U-X to L1 , V-Y to L2 , W-Z to L3

Make sure you double check the supply voltage before you make final connection to the motour and the diagram I posted is DELTA low voltage conneciton { majorty of the IEC motours are wired Y-D ( WYE-DELTA) the reason why in wye mode it will reduce the current during start up then get near running speed it will switch over to delta }

so just hook up in straight delta if you are in North Américanie side.

Again.,, always double check the voltage supply before you engerized the motour and if you have nameplate on it then double check it carefull some of the IEC motours will not work on 208 volt system. { too low a voltage level }

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 07:47 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 phase 6 wire motor


we have no nameplate
older version worked
ty very much

stace
stace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 11:07 AM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,618
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

3 phase 6 wire motor


Sorry if I'm too late here, I've been working 7 - 10s on a power plant since labor Day.

I think the low voltage connection would be L1 = U&Z, L2 = V&X, L3 = W&Y.

As noted, this motor is most likely a wye-delta. The existing connection is wye, and it is for high voltage. The delta connection is for low voltage.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 11:22 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 phase 6 wire motor


micromind

never came a cross a six wire before with the letters so i took a big gamble and wired exactly what you said thanks for letting me know its correct..... motor did run wired for high ... so still was sure i had it right....

thanks again

stace
stace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 11:44 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 phase 6 wire motor


I read your post and i have a 6 wire motor with 2u/2v/2w/1u/1v/1w/ i am trying to hook up a VFD do i use The modern connection will be U1 & W2 on L1 while V1 & U2 on L2 and W1 &V2 on L3 or go with delta 1u/1v/w I live in USA
Thanks for your help
Larry
lojr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 01:42 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3 phase 6 wire motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by lojr View Post
I read your post and i have a 6 wire motor with 2u/2v/2w/1u/1v/1w/ i am trying to hook up a VFD do i use The modern connection will be U1 & W2 on L1 while V1 & U2 on L2 and W1 &V2 on L3 or go with delta 1u/1v/w I live in USA
Thanks for your help
Larry
What the nameplate voltage and what the supply voltage you are using right now that will make the differnce there.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 11:19 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 phase 6 wire motor


it is a 2hp 240 volt 3 phase motor
supply is 240 volts
Thanks
lojr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 10:53 PM   #9
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,618
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

3 phase 6 wire motor


If the motor is 240/415, the 240 connection would be

L1 = U1 & W2

L2 = V1 & U2

L3 = W1 & V2

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (10-24-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Wire a Condenser Fan Motor empsmom475 HVAC 4 07-14-2011 05:37 PM
HVAC three wire motor to six wire motor Leo Caproni HVAC 5 10-18-2010 01:23 PM
old 220V motor how to wire mxkjk2 Electrical 10 10-09-2010 12:22 AM
Motor control wiring problem dgr68 Electrical 8 01-04-2009 05:13 PM
3 phase power from 5 wire to 4 wire andrewmarcos@yahoo.co.uk Electrical 6 11-25-2008 10:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.