3 Phase 3/4 Motor Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 09:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 phase 3/4 motor switch


Hello! Could anyone point me in the direction of a suitable magnetic switch for a 3 phase 3/4 horse motor? All of the switches I've found are rated for a much large motor than the one I have. Could this be problematic? motor specs below.
THANKS!

MAGENETEK EXPLOSION PROOF
PH: 3
HP: 3/4
RPM: 1725
VOLTS: 208-230/460 (ITS ALREADY HOOKED UP TO 208/230, 30 AMP BREAKER)
AMPS: 2.8-3.0/1.5
HZ: 60
SF:1.0
TIME RATING: CONT
INS CLASS: B
AMB. C: 40
NEMA DESIGN: (BLANK)
CODE: K

Advertisement

gustonlemond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 09:03 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3 phase 3/4 motor switch


Having a higher rating shouldn't hurt anything.

Advertisement

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 09:10 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,743
Rewards Points: 602
Default

3 phase 3/4 motor switch


Just to make sure you know if you plan on using this motor at your home, it's rare to even see 3 ph even avalible in a residential setting.
You would need a phase converter.
Homes are single phase.

Last edited by joecaption; 08-27-2012 at 09:33 AM.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 09:15 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 phase 3/4 motor switch


thanks, fortunately I have 3phase power in my building. It's already wired and running, I just need a switch. I'm turning it on and off via the breaker.
gustonlemond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 09:49 AM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,212
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

3 phase 3/4 motor switch


You need one of these .... they also come 30 amp rated. Just go to an electrical supply or you might try e-bay to find one at less cost.

http://www.electricsupplyonline.com/...-1_w011453.php

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HUBBELL-30-A...item3f1b8b57b2

Last edited by Stubbie; 08-27-2012 at 09:56 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 12:45 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

3 phase 3/4 motor switch


There are couple issue that allready arise on this set up.,

First of all you do not need the 30 amp breaker that is way too big for this purpose you will need 15 amp three phase breaker that is the smallest one you can use on this size motour.

Keep in your mind that the 15 amp breaker is used for short circuit protection only and you will need a manual motour starter with overload relay or coil in there to fine tune protection on overload stuff and it don't take much to get them overloaded due you are running on three phase you may not notice the light flicker at all.

You can get new motor starter avce protection it will come in either IEC or NEMA frame size with eclosed box otherwise you can ask some of the electrical contractor to see if they have some on hand they can sell it to you.

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3 phase , motor , switch


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hELP! Amperage needed for 220V motors 1488rob Electrical 36 01-28-2014 05:44 PM
Three phase transformer question rongaudier Electrical 8 03-08-2011 08:19 AM
Wiring Single Phase through 3 Phase socket tonyr417 Electrical 10 10-26-2010 10:09 PM
Want to add a single phase Subpanel to three Phase Main meglomachinist Electrical 19 09-10-2009 04:46 PM
120/208/1 phase wiring questions JohnJon Electrical 11 09-01-2008 12:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts