Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2013, 07:43 PM   #16
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,721
Share |
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
That will ay with the area. My town, 240 volt is high legged. A city not far a way, 230 volt is high legged.
????, 230 and 240 volts are nominal numbers in the same voltage range.

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:50 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 551
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
That will ay with the area. My town, 240 volt is high legged. A city not far a way, 230 volt is high legged.
Never heard of 230v. Doesn't that make it difficult to buy anything, or is it close enough.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:51 PM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
????, 230 and 240 volts are nominal numbers in the same voltage range.
In the city I spoke of, they have both 240 and 230, depending on which area you are in. And the power company is very specific that they are not the same. The areas with 240 3 phase is not high legged, the area with 230 is. In my town, its only 240 volt 3 phase, and it is high legged.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:51 PM   #19
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,721
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
Never heard of 230v. Doesn't that make it difficult to buy anything, or is it close enough.
Its all the same thing....
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:52 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
Never heard of 230v. Doesn't that make it difficult to buy anything, or is it close enough.
230 is within the =/-10% of 240.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:54 PM   #21
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,721
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
In the city I spoke of, they have both 240 and 230, depending on which area you are in. And the power company is very specific that they are not the same. The areas with 240 3 phase is not high legged, the area with 230 is. In my town, its only 240 volt 3 phase, and it is high legged.
never mind, confused myself...

Last edited by stickboy1375; 04-24-2013 at 07:59 PM.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (04-25-2013)
Old 04-24-2013, 07:58 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,864
Default

3 phase 240v?


Occasionally you will hear references to a 220 volt system. This is considered the same as a 240 volt system and different from a 208 volt system. In 3 phase a system that actually measures 110 volts phase to neutral will have a high leg of about 191 volts phase to neutral.

When you have some areas of the city specifically with 230 volts and other areas specifically with 240 volts this means areas roughly 1000 feet across, or the range of a pole transformer. It is impossible to have approximatley 120 volts on an approximate 240 volt 3 phase system without having a high leg. The city in question may be using the terminology (and also voltage regulators for) 230 volts to refer to a system with only 230 volts and perhaps having one leg grounded (corner ground)
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-24-2013 at 08:31 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 08:07 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,375
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
Never heard of 230v. Doesn't that make it difficult to buy anything, or is it close enough.
In 99% of cases it's close enough !
If a motor is designed for 240v,
It will work quite happily on 230v,
it might pull a little more current,
but in most cases it's not significant.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 11:17 PM   #24
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by toxo View Post
Sorry guys. Didn't realise my location wasn't there. Over here we use 240V mains. The machine I'm after has a motor which states 240v but the plug that goes in the socket is a red safety plug which is normally used for a 3 phase supply. Question is.. can I use it on a single phase home circuit?
With the red plug as you mention there how many pins it have if 4 pins then you got a three phase verison but a good gotcha is it can be wired for 240 volts three phase or worst is 415 volts three phase so with UK system I know it normal to see it in 240 volt single phase but three phase 240 volts not too often AFAIK ditto over here in France.

With that moteur the best answer is look at the nameplate it should say three phase or speical symbol on it and if you do have three phase supply I am seriously recomeond hire the electrician to take a look at your customer unit to confirm if you have legit 240 volt single phase or 240 volt three phase ( not too common but it do show up ) or 415 volts.

If that moteur frame is common IEC frame size it may be easier to swap to monophase.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:06 AM   #25
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Psst! The high leg 3 phase is the 240 volt kind (delta system)..
The symmetric (wye, all legs 120 to ground) is the 208 volt kind.

Older primary (substation to street) lines may be 4000 (4160) volt phase to phase or 2400 volts
phase to ground.

In cities, modern primary lines are typically in the 13000 volt phase to phase range, in rural areas they
could run up to 30000 volt phase to phase usually with just one of the three phases seving
each street.

Depending on the pole transformer array, buildings receiving 3 phase power might get either
120/208 or 120/240 volt (secondary) power regardless of the primary voltage.
most of the time down in the city ..... 5/6 largest city in the US .... and the first to ever require Testing of electricians ..... 208 is the Delta high leg .. we are currently doing a a commerical building in the outer county and it is 208 Wye ....it's actually 480/277 in ... as most are.

we have a building coming up that is 2 phase 5 wire ....... talking about old ...In the city, Philadelphia. and it all works ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:08 AM   #26
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by toxo View Post
Hi guys.

I'm looking at buying a sewing machine that has a red plug on it but the motor says 240V can I use this machine at home? It's on an auction site so can't try anything.

Thanks. Paul
the hertz is going to be a concern .... 50hz or 60hz
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 11:23 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,864
Default

3 phase 240v?


Running a 50 Hz appliance on 60 Hz will usually work okay but there may be reduced strength and capability that will be noticeable in terms of observation or sound as you reach what should be maximum loading such as for a tool.

Running a 60 Hz appliance on 50 Hz may work okay but you can get overheating without a noticeable change in behavior or sound. In a few instances the overheating can occur well before using it at what should be its maximum load.

This is because the impedance (AC resistance) of coils, or inductances, (which all motors contain) varies with the AC frequency. The 50 Hz appliance run on 60 Hz will draw less current than it should or could; the 60 Hz appliance will draw more.

Impedance protected means that under worst case conditions (e.g motor stalled) overheating won't occur because the current is limited by the internal resistance (impedance), assuming proper voltage and AC frequency. Typically this applies only to small motors.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-25-2013 at 11:29 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v Out of Phase Due to Fuses? CloudNine Electrical 9 10-11-2012 03:32 PM
irrigation pump shutdownMy Sta-rite 2 HP centrifugal self priming single phase 240V i Oly Electrical 7 06-17-2010 10:44 AM
Want to add a single phase Subpanel to three Phase Main meglomachinist Electrical 19 09-10-2009 03:46 PM
208V vs 240V 3 phase pcampbell Electrical 14 07-28-2009 11:12 AM
Converting std 220v/60hz to Single phase 240V 3-wire jryali Electrical 19 03-23-2009 11:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.