Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2013, 08:23 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gillingham, Kent, UK
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 phase 240v?


Hi guys.

I'm looking at buying a sewing machine that has a red plug on it but the motor says 240V can I use this machine at home? It's on an auction site so can't try anything.

Thanks. Paul

toxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 08:26 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,116
Rewards Points: 3,026
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3 phase 240v?


There is no such thing as 3 phase 240. It is three phase 208.
Does the motor actually say three phase? 240 volts single phase is available in 99% of the homes in north America. You will have to install a proper receptacle to use it. It will plug into your normal three prong wall receptacle.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 08:30 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

3 phase 240v?


Joed, did you mean to say it will not plug into a reguler outlet?
May want to edit what you said.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 08:56 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
There is no such thing as 3 phase 240. It is three phase 208.
3-phase 240 volt is a high leg delta system where phase to phase is 240 volts, 2 phases to ground are 120 volts, and 1 phase (high leg) is 208 volts to ground.

Pretty common in older services, not much used anymore in new services.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wirenut1110 For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (04-24-2013)
Old 04-24-2013, 09:12 AM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,625
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

3 phase 240v?


There are entire subdivisions around here that have 240 volt 3 ∆ services. The 3 is used for the A/C unit.

There also exists a 240 volt 3 system with only 3 wires, one of them is grounded, there is 240 from any wire to any other wire, but no 120. Mostly found on irrigation pumps, not buildings.

There are plenty of 240 volt single phase motors as well as 3. If possible, get a pic of the nameplate.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
ddawg16 (04-24-2013), mpoulton (04-24-2013)
Old 04-24-2013, 09:19 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gillingham, Kent, UK
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 phase 240v?


Sorry guys. Didn't realise my location wasn't there. Over here we use 240V mains. The machine I'm after has a motor which states 240v but the plug that goes in the socket is a red safety plug which is normally used for a 3 phase supply. Question is.. can I use it on a single phase home circuit?
toxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 09:27 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

3 phase 240v?


If the motor itself has just two wires going into it and is labeled 240 volts, then you can connect it to a 240 volt single phase source.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
micromind (04-24-2013)
Old 04-24-2013, 03:54 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,116
Rewards Points: 3,026
Blog Entries: 4
Default

3 phase 240v?


If it is really a 3 phase unit then you can NOT use on a single phase system as it is.
There are converters available to convert the single phase to three phase or you could change the motor to a single phase motor.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
micromind (04-24-2013)
Old 04-24-2013, 04:11 PM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,573
Rewards Points: 2,476
Default

3 phase 240v?


Did anyone notice that the OP is in England? Local power is 240Vac 50Hz.

If the plug looks like this...good to go...
Attached Thumbnails
3 phase 240v?-mobile-phone-charger-usb-uk-standard-power-plug-.jpg  
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 04:56 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3 phase 240v?


well since Philly is what is old when speaking of electric ...LOL

we have 208 3 phase in the city .. usually high leg b phase

out in the suburbs you see more 240 3 phase all legs 120 to ground

and we still have some 2 phase 5 wire ....
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 05:48 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gillingham, Kent, UK
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 phase 240v?


I suppose the question can't be answered without more info. I was merely trying to ascertain whether the thing (labeled 240V) could be wired to use at home. It does have a RED 3 phase plug on it but I don't know if it's been put on there as some kind of safety feature. Wishful thinking I think.
toxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:47 PM   #12
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,625
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by toxo View Post
I suppose the question can't be answered without more info. I was merely trying to ascertain whether the thing (labeled 240V) could be wired to use at home. It does have a RED 3 phase plug on it but I don't know if it's been put on there as some kind of safety feature. Wishful thinking I think.
Correct.

You'll need to know if the motor is single phase or 3 phase.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:07 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,660
Rewards Points: 2,280
Default

3 phase 240v?


Can you post a pic of the plug and cord ?
If not, look on the plug for a model number and brand ?
What type of plug is it ?
How many pins ?
What shape are they ?
What pattern are they ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:46 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
well since Philly is what is old when speaking of electric ...LOL

we have 208 3 phase in the city .. usually high leg b phase

out in the suburbs you see more 240 3 phase all legs 120 to ground:
Psst! The high leg 3 phase is the 240 volt kind (delta system).
The symmetric (wye, all legs 120 to ground) is the 208 volt kind.

Older primary (substation to street) lines may be 4KV (4160 volt) phase to phase or 2400 volts
phase to ground.

In cities, modern primary lines are typically in the 13000 volt phase to phase range, in rural areas they
could run up to 30000 volt phase to phase usually with just one of the three phases serving
each street.

Depending on the pole transformer array, buildings receiving 3 phase power might get either
120/208 or 120/240 volt (secondary) power regardless of the primary voltage.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-25-2013 at 11:47 AM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (04-25-2013)
Old 04-24-2013, 08:33 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,981
Rewards Points: 3,632
Default

3 phase 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Psst! The high leg 3 phase is the 240 volt kind (delta system)..
The symmetric (wye, all legs 120 to ground) is the 208 volt kind.
That will ay with the area. My town, 240 volt is high legged. A city not far a way, 230 volt is high legged.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v Out of Phase Due to Fuses? CloudNine Electrical 9 10-11-2012 04:32 PM
irrigation pump shutdownMy Sta-rite 2 HP centrifugal self priming single phase 240V i Oly Electrical 7 06-17-2010 11:44 AM
Want to add a single phase Subpanel to three Phase Main meglomachinist Electrical 19 09-10-2009 04:46 PM
208V vs 240V 3 phase pcampbell Electrical 14 07-28-2009 12:12 PM
Converting std 220v/60hz to Single phase 240V 3-wire jryali Electrical 19 03-24-2009 12:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.