Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2011, 10:19 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

3 out of 4 items in circuit not working


last night we lost power in 3 of electrical outlet in a room a light on the same circuit however still works. it appears as if there is power running to the hot lead but not to the neutral lead however this would not explain why the fourth (a light socket last item on the circuit )still works. I am assuming a loose wire or shorted out wire however unable to locate a source for this problem.

any suggestions or should we just call an electrician

brianes99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 10:58 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,241
Default

3 out of 4 items in circuit not working


As an electrician... Call an Electrician. Otherwise turn circuit off,and replace all receptacles that aren't working.

bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 11:03 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default

3 out of 4 items in circuit not working


thanks. we started with replacing 2 of the outlets.
brianes99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 11:10 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,461
Default

3 out of 4 items in circuit not working


The problem is a loose neutral. It could be in one of the dead devices or in a working device. Open everything and look for a disconnected white wire.
If you know how the cable are routed then the problem is in the last working or the first not working device.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 11:26 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default

3 out of 4 items in circuit not working


ok. replaced first in line. last in line is working light but will check it
brianes99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 12:00 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,031
Default

3 out of 4 items in circuit not working


If you had a short, your breaker would trip every time you tried to reset it. What you have, is a open. This is why AFCI breakers were designed.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 12:03 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,989
Default

3 out of 4 items in circuit not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by brianes99 View Post
ok. replaced first in line. last in line is working light but will check it
Knowing what is first in line is not always obvious and knowing how the cables actually are routed isn't either. If what you think is the last receptacle in the same circuit is working that eliminates any wiring problem like an open neutral in the circuit. Unless pigtails to the receptacles that are not working have bad connections.

Are your receptacles back stabbed...meaning do the wires poke into holes in the back of the receptacle?

Are you sure that the receptacle that is working is not in fact the first receptacle before the receptacles that are not working ?

Also if you would as you open these receptacle boxes could you tell us how many cables are entering those boxes. Your receptacle that is at the end or last in line should only have one cable entering the box with 2 wires and a ground but if no ground wire then just two wires (black and white).
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 01-22-2011 at 12:05 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 01:02 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default

3 out of 4 items in circuit not working


only one recepticle is wired to be source for another outlet further down
brianes99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:25 AM   #9
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

3 out of 4 items in circuit not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by brianes99 View Post
only one recepticle is wired to be source for another outlet further down
then we have more than one circuit or a jbox somewhere!
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:36 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default

3 out of 4 items in circuit not working


oh yes! definately more than one junction. and of course the box that splits the lines for this room appears to be behind a wall. replaced circuit breaker and all outlets in room.

So either its the junction I can't get too or a one of two long stretches of wire that feeds the room.

i'll explore those options today
brianes99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:48 AM   #11
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

3 out of 4 items in circuit not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by brianes99 View Post
appears to be behind a wall.
Just a heads up all electrical must be accessible.

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Rewiring older house WillK Electrical 12 10-13-2010 01:49 PM
Rewiring furnace electrical circuit BlueBSH HVAC 4 09-21-2010 01:34 PM
Circuit tester shows open neutral; multi-meter says something different. fredgmeyer Electrical 11 10-26-2009 12:41 PM
Circuit advice for finishing basement Straightgrain Electrical 16 03-25-2009 09:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.