Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2011, 06:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

3 in one switch


i have a 3 gang box that control 3 different lights with 3 different switches. i want to use a single gang box with a switch i bought that controls the 3 lights with separate buttons on 1 switch. not sure how to wire it there is 2 hots 3 neutrals and a ground? it is a pass&seymour tm8111

kicken asphalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 06:41 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,577
Default

3 in one switch


You should not have neutrals connected to a switch. Describe the number and colors of wires attached to each switch.

I suspect you have switch loops involved and you might not be able to make the change.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 06:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Default

3 in one switch


i'm sorry jim the new switch has a black screw and a gold screw on 1 side 1 black and 2 golds on the other and a green screw on the bottem
kicken asphalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 06:55 PM   #4
Electrician Canadian Eh!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto,Canada
Posts: 28
Default

3 in one switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by kicken asphalt View Post
i have a 3 gang box that control 3 different lights with 3 different switches. i want to use a single gang box with a switch i bought that controls the 3 lights with separate buttons on 1 switch. not sure how to wire it there is 2 hots 3 neutrals and a ground? it is a pass&seymour tm8111
I believe this info will help.
http://tools.passandseymour.com/pdf/...11_E20-E21.pdf
It looks like the switch(es) can share a common feed or be fed from 2 seperate circuits(The middle screws on both sides). The switch wires are connected on the other 3 screws. And of course there is the ground screw on the end.
Hope this helps!!.
hhuggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 10:37 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.