3 Circuit Relay - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2011, 11:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 circuit relay


Hello,

I am vaguely familiar with AC/DC circuits. But I am not sure what I need or how to acchieve my newest idea.

I have RGB's on my motorcycle and I want to wire them for accent lighting and use them as turn signals.

I plan on using a toggle switch to go back and forth between the 2 setups.

For the turn signal it seems simple. I will wire the factory turn signal lead into one side of the toggle. When on it will supply 12V to all 3 RGB leads with the correct size resisters to create an amber glow.

The secondary is where I need help.

When switched on I need 3 separate circuits to go from open to closed. These 3 circuits are from an RGB RF controller. There is one lead for each of the red, green, and blue.

I have considered some kind of relay, but I am not familiar with anything like this. Thanks

Advertisement

fiffer000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 12:18 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 circuit relay


I have found these relays http://www.omron-ap.co.th/product_info/LY/index.asp

Not sure if one of these is what I need and if one will work which one. I am not sure how to read the schematics.

I have posted an image of what I am looking for. I am not an engineer by any means. I drew this up in paint and it actually shows 4 needed circuits not 3.



Here is a relay that looks like it would work, but I would not know what the extra posts are for or which ones to use.

Advertisement


Last edited by fiffer000; 09-11-2011 at 12:24 AM.
fiffer000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 12:34 AM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

3 circuit relay


13 & 14 are the coil terminals. 1/9, 2/10, 3/11, 4/12 are normally closed. 5/9, 6/10, 7/11, 8/12 are normally open, will close when power is supplied to 13/14.

If you want the lights on when power is supplied to the coil, use 5/9, 6/10, 7/11, or 8/12.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 12:38 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 circuit relay


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
13 & 14 are the coil terminals. 1/9, 2/10, 3/11, 4/12 are normally closed. 5/9, 6/10, 7/11, 8/12 are normally open, will close when power is supplied to 13/14.

If you want the lights on when power is supplied to the coil, use 5/9, 6/10, 7/11, or 8/12.
Thanks for spelling this out for me. This was exactly the information I needed!
fiffer000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 12:43 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 circuit relay


Can you help me out again and let me know the difference in the power needs in these 2 relays? Thanks in advance

fiffer000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 04:04 PM   #6
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

3 circuit relay


Doesn’t look like there’s much if any difference in the specs between the relays, except the LY4N-D2 has diode surge suppression.

http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheets2/44/449350_1.pdf
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 04:50 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 circuit relay


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Doesn’t look like there’s much if any difference in the specs between the relays, except the LY4N-D2 has diode surge suppression.

http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheets2/44/449350_1.pdf
What does that mean in every day dummy terms
fiffer000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 05:12 PM   #8
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

3 circuit relay


If you have one, or if they’re cheap, try one. Maybe hooked it up on the bench and test it before you actually put it on the bike. Make sure things work the way you want them to.

Advertisement

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 way circuit to a 3 way circuit BigAtl Electrical 8 12-16-2010 02:59 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 07:46 PM
Two Different Wire gages on Same Circuit OK? Lovegasoline Electrical 5 12-02-2009 06:00 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 09:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts