Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-25-2010, 12:03 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Talking

2x3 studs


i have #12 wire between 2X3 studs, can someone tell me if there are special box's that allow to wire a switch. The 2X3's make it very tight to work in.

pit495 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 06:39 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Default

2x3 studs


Yes, there are boxes for 2x3 studs. But pay attention to box loading charts, not too many wires please. Plastic boxes will often list how many wires are allowed, or consult NEC.

Something that is often done with smaller boxes is to use a double gang box with a single fixture cover. Gives lots more working space.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 07:31 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,384
Default

2x3 studs


If the cables are fed though holes in the studs you also need metal plates over the cables to protect them from nails and screws.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 10:03 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 143
Default

2x3 studs


I have the exact same problem. Check out this thread for some solutions:

Counting wires in a box?
jerseyguy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 03:49 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Default

2x3 studs


Thank you all for the quick response, looks like JerseyGuy has what I need. Since the switch box is in a tile bathroom the Lowe's box with the side extension should work perfect.
Thank you all
AND
Merry CHRISTMAS
pit495 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attaching a worksurface directly to studs in of a basement wall BasementVirgin Building & Construction 3 10-06-2010 12:04 PM
New foundation for bathroom floor and exterior wall studs JayG Building & Construction 2 07-11-2010 01:25 PM
Cripple studs below a header mercy Building & Construction 3 01-20-2010 03:20 PM
using 8' studs vs 7'-9" studs RINAIL Carpentry 2 07-10-2008 04:16 PM
nails and staples missed studs in garage dingler44 Building & Construction 1 10-10-2006 11:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.