Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2008, 08:27 PM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

2x100a sub on service main


Quote:
Originally Posted by jambud View Post
Thanks...One more question..on that 100Amp subpanel, I ran three wires of #3 thhn for the two Hots and Neutral from the Main 200A to the Subpanel.

Can I run the ground separate (not to the main panel) outside to a ground rod which is a shorter run with the remaining # 3 wire that I was short? If so, do I still separate the neutral and ground at the Sub?
No way. The grounding conductor needs to be run with your other conductors and terminate in the service panel. You can use a #8 copper wire for the grounding conductor. Yes, keep the neutral and ground separated in the sub panel.

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 09:36 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 0
Default

2x100a sub on service main


Theres a 8-3 romex run that was used for a range but no longer used or energized. Its right behind the subpanel and coming from the 200 main. Could i just use that wire for the ground since it goes to the main? Or does the ground have to be in the same conduit as the feeders?
jambud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 09:31 AM   #18
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

2x100a sub on service main


Quote:
Originally Posted by jambud View Post
Theres a 8-3 romex run that was used for a range but no longer used or energized. Its right behind the subpanel and coming from the 200 main. Could i just use that wire for the ground since it goes to the main? Or does the ground have to be in the same conduit as the feeders?
In the same conduit as the feeder circuit per code. The conductor you mentioned would work of course. But it would not be code compliant. And who knows what might happen in the future to that old circuit. I recommend just doing it correctly and be done with it.

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Main disconnect box before service panel Cellomangler Electrical 4 02-04-2008 07:43 AM
Main Service Panel Full bobo Electrical 5 09-24-2007 07:13 PM
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 10:00 PM
Arced main lug in service panel burgeke Electrical 4 11-02-2006 11:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.