277 V Fixture Question - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2013, 09:02 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 802
Default

277 v fixture question


Quote:
Originally Posted by romex1220 View Post
I'll just stick with residential wiring
No. Broaden your horizions. Good advice I had .

Advertisement

bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 06:58 AM   #17
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 515
Rewards Points: 292
Default

277 v fixture question


If you don't know or remember what a 277V system is and how it works, YOU HAVE NO BUSINESS TOUCHING IT, PERIOD.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to busman For This Useful Post:
Oso954 (08-28-2013)
Old 08-28-2013, 07:22 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

277 v fixture question


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post
If you don't know or remember what a 277V system is and how it works, YOU HAVE NO BUSINESS TOUCHING IT, PERIOD.

Mark
Thanks, but ill stick with it, hey I gotta start somewhere
RAUL HIDALGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 07:41 AM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

277 v fixture question


Quote:
Originally Posted by RAUL HIDALGO View Post
Finally I get it now ,thank you very much sir, now that I think about it there are some transformers inside the building ,it all fits now

ussually in the electrical rooom .... there are different panels ... ie labled L1 L2 etc .for the LIGHTS and equipment.. usually these panels are 277/480 ...

then the transformer usually is for the resepticals 120/240


one of our biggest pet peves is to MARK any junction boxes with voltage, Panel # and Breaker #
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer

Last edited by Philly Master; 08-28-2013 at 07:43 AM.
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:00 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

277 v fixture question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post

ussually in the electrical rooom .... there are different panels ... ie labled L1 L2 etc .for the LIGHTS and equipment.. usually these panels are 277/480 ...

then the transformer usually is for the resepticals 120/240

one of our biggest pet peves is to MARK any junction boxes with voltage, Panel # and Breaker #
Your right jbox cover is marked as "dpg1-13" which is a 3phase 277 480 panel.

Advertisement

RAUL HIDALGO is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RAUL HIDALGO For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (08-28-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simple Question on Light Switch Series hagler Electrical 19 03-20-2012 08:46 AM
Replace outdated fixture with outlet derbydog Electrical 4 12-14-2011 01:53 AM
Old house, having light fixture issues atomiclilly Electrical 6 12-03-2009 09:54 AM
New fixture wiring question Unregistered Electrical 1 02-22-2004 08:34 PM
Installing a ceiling fixture Cregan Electrical 3 02-08-2004 10:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts