Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2012, 12:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

250V 30amp 3 post plug on a bandsaw, change the plug to a 4 post plug question


Hello-

I am a woodworker, I have a small electrical dilemma to pose: I am working on a building project and I haven't hooked up the electrical service on site yet. I have a 17" Bridgewood bandsaw that runs on 220V power, it has a plug labeled 250V/30A. I would like to use this machine to cut some beams, but as I don't have service in the building yet I am hoping to use my Yamaha generator to power the bandsaw. the generator has a 220V circuit that has a four post outlet, but the bandsaw's plug is only a three post. I understand that when you have a balanced load, as in the motor of the bandsaw, there are only two hots and a ground used on the circuit. I took the saw's plug apart and found two hots labeled X and Y, and a green ground wire (3 wires). I have a new four post plug that fits the generator's outlet, but there are four connections in the plug, W, X and Y, and ground. Is it safe to hook up this plug up to the bandsaw motor with only the X and Y hots and a ground? I don't want to risk doing anything that wouldn't be safe and possibly damage the bandsaw... I'd appreciate any advice from someone who is more knowledgeable about these matters than I am. thanks.

benjeremiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 01:39 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,547
Default

250V 30amp 3 post plug on a bandsaw, change the plug to a 4 post plug question


The fourth (neutral) terminal of the generator receptacle is only required for loads that use both 120V and 240V. Your saw is a 240V-only load, so you can just leave the neutral (W) terminal empty when wiring the plug to the saw. No problem.

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:06 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Default

250V 30amp 3 post plug on a bandsaw, change the plug to a 4 post plug question


Hey thanks for the reply mpoulton, I wired the plug yesterday and I will soon be cutting my beams with the bandsaw running from the generator. they are about 8" x 10" and some are 16 ft. long... I need to cut them down to 6" x 9" to make some supports for floor joists that are going to make a storage loft for my woodshop. thanks for the advice.
benjeremiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:43 AM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,547
Default

250V 30amp 3 post plug on a bandsaw, change the plug to a 4 post plug question


Nice project. Have fun!
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
220v circuit, bandsaw, generator, motor


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.