Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2013, 09:33 AM   #1
Member
 
heinlein0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 56
Share |
Default

240v thermostat on 120v system?


I am installing a 120v radiant floor heat system in my bathroom. I already have a 240v thermostat that is for radiant floor heat. Can I use this thermostat if I wire it the same as I would for a 120v thermostat? Instead of 2 leads, just wire the one?

heinlein0311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:37 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 587
Default

240v thermostat on 120v system?


Don't know if it works on all thermostats or not, but I cut a baseboard heater from 240 to 120 and the thermostat worked just fine.
I just changed it at the breaker box; the rest of the wiring remained as it was.


Last edited by Toller; 03-11-2013 at 09:39 AM.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 10:39 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Default

240v thermostat on 120v system?


You can wire it with one lead (hot) or both hot and neutral.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Default

240v thermostat on 120v system?


The 240 volt line voltage thermostat works perfectly well on a 120 volt circuit.

The reverse is not true. A thermostat rated for 120 or so volts may not have both hot leads of a 240 volt circuit connected to the thermostat unit even if there is a neutral giving 120 volts hot to neutral.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:19 AM   #5
Member
 
heinlein0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 56
Default

240v thermostat on 120v system?


Awesome, thanks guys for the good info, it's well appreciated!
heinlein0311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:28 PM   #6
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

240v thermostat on 120v system?


If it is an electronic thermostat it probably will not work. If it is non-electronic, then it should be fine.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 05:42 PM   #7
Electric Radiant Heating
 
warmsmeallup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 205
Default

240v thermostat on 120v system?


The GFI probably won't work either....

__________________
www.comfortradiant.net
warmsmeallup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for some help with 240v to 120v wiring Tyrus3 Electrical 4 06-07-2012 09:28 AM
Totaline wireless thermostat not showing the correct temperature and system not cooling upper floors phuheey HVAC 3 06-01-2012 05:52 PM
240v Air Compressor to 120v help ruacoltsnut General DIY Discussions 10 11-11-2010 04:05 PM
Permit For Fire Sprinklers letnes Plumbing 18 10-14-2010 05:23 PM
A/C won't turn off with thermostat temp adjustment ( Goodman system ) rkpatt HVAC 3 07-29-2008 04:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.