240v Sub Panel Hook Up With No Neutral - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2008, 04:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

240v sub panel hook up with no neutral


Recently a friend and I have been doing some remodeling on my garage. We decided to hookup a 240 sub panel from the main house. We strung some jacketed #8 wire in conduit from the main panel to the new sub. There are three wires in the jacket: a white one, a black one and a bare copper one. The power is coming from the main panel from a two pole 50 amp breaker. We used the white and black wires as the two hots and lugged it to the two buses in the sub for 240v. It works but as I was drifting off to sleep just now I realized I donít have a neutral wire in the Sub panel. Is this an accident waiting to happen? What should I do?

Advertisement

ut74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 06:21 AM   #2
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

240v sub panel hook up with no neutral


You NEED to have a 4 wire feed for the sub panel, 2 hots 1 neutral and 1 ground. Is this in an attached building (garage) or a detached building (shed, workshop)? You need to have the neutral and ground seperated in the sub panel, not bonded together. you also need a ground rod as well if it is in a detached structure.

#8 needs to be breakered at 40AMPS as well.

Advertisement

__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 06:45 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

240v sub panel hook up with no neutral


Wow. I'd get a few good books on home wiring and get the rudimentary basics down before doing ANY more electrical work.
This is NO place to fool around of you don't know what you are doing.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 11:17 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240v sub panel hook up with no neutral


Thanks for the help! Disconnecting and calling electrician.
ut74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 11:20 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

240v sub panel hook up with no neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by ut74 View Post
What should I do?
Turn it off until you redo it correctly. I would recommend hiring an electrician. Watch him or her for next time. What you did is wrong and dangerous.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 12:56 PM   #6
J Calvin Construction
 
jcalvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 150
Default

240v sub panel hook up with no neutral


If a picture is worth a thousand words, here is my five thousand word response to that.


__________________
Cal

You hired WHO?
jcalvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 02:32 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,349
Rewards Points: 3,492
Blog Entries: 4
Default

240v sub panel hook up with no neutral


You have a 240 volt service to your garage. Only 240 volt devices can be used. If you want to use 120 volts then you need run a neutral or move the white wire from the breaker to the neutral bus in your main panel and conenct to the neutral bus on the garage. Then you won't have any 240 volts only 120 volts available.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 08:30 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

240v sub panel hook up with no neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalvin View Post
If a picture is worth a thousand words, here is my five thousand word response to that.
Response to what? Turning off the hack circuit? Tell us more oh wise one.

Advertisement

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
12v diff between ground and neutral at panel am9518 Electrical 7 02-25-2008 07:28 PM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 10:20 AM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 06:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts