240v Receptacle Below Main Panel - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2012, 01:32 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


stickboy1375, i appreciate all the help and time, thanks!

Advertisement

1percenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 02:08 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 858
Rewards Points: 732
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Are you sure you need 50A? That sounds like a very large feed for a compressor. 50A @ 240 V is 12,000 watts or 16HP! Say 10HP after allowing for start up surge. 10HP is a pretty big motor. I don't even know if you can get single phase motors that big, you're creeping into 3Φ territory. How big is the motor on this thing?
curiousB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 03:23 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousB View Post
Are you sure you need 50A? That sounds like a very large feed for a compressor. 50A @ 240 V is 12,000 watts or 16HP! Say 10HP after allowing for start up surge. 10HP is a pretty big motor. I don't even know if you can get single phase motors that big, you're creeping into 3Φ territory. How big is the motor on this thing?
oh not at all, its just what i found searching online, i would be okay with a 30amp and even possibly a 20amp.

My compressor is a 5hp which draws about 16amps under 80% load and 22amps at start-up.
1percenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:32 PM   #19
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1percenter View Post
oh not at all, its just what i found searching online, i would be okay with a 30amp and even possibly a 20amp.

My compressor is a 5hp which draws about 16amps under 80% load and 22amps at start-up.
You still have to use Table 430.248 to size a motor, a 5 HP motor ends up being 28 amps at 240 volts...

We have to add 125% to that value for minimum branch circuit wiring, 28 x 1.25 = 35 amps, 310.16 allows #10 AWG @35 amps...

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Electric Panel Help Redrum Ninja Electrical 13 10-22-2011 08:28 PM
200A upgrade and move, backfeeding permitted? WillK Electrical 3 05-30-2011 09:00 PM
Two sub panels off of main panel OK? brjl Electrical 4 05-29-2011 02:33 PM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 10:40 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 09:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts