Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2012, 06:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


I am trying to get power for my compressor. I am okay moving my compressor next to my main panel for the limited amount of time i plan to use it.

Any problems with installing

1. 30amp 2 pole breaker (my box has free space for this).


2. Make a hole at the bottom of my Main Panel and running a 10-2 cable.

3. Installing a " 50 Amp 1-Space 1-Circuit Temporary RV Power Outlet Box" directly below the main panel , Can this be flush mounted ?

1percenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:21 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1percenter View Post
I am trying to get power for my compressor. I am okay moving my compressor next to my main panel for the limited amount of time i plan to use it.

Any problems with installing

1. 30amp 2 pole breaker (my box has free space for this).


2. Make a hole at the bottom of my Main Panel and running a 10-2 cable.

3. Installing a " 50 Amp 1-Space 1-Circuit Temporary RV Power Outlet Box" directly below the main panel , Can this be flush mounted ?

If you want a flush receptacle, but one of these...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:25 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
If you want a flush receptacle, but one of these...
I would prefer something small/flush like you listed however i plan to put this outdoors, do they sell something that would prevent it from getting wet?
1percenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Lets's see... a 50 amp receptacle on a 30 amp circuit...

210.21(B)(B) Receptacles.
(1) Single Receptacle on an Individual Branch Circuit.
A single receptacle installed on an individual branch circuit
shall have an ampere rating not less than that of the branch
circuit.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:34 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,200
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


50 amp receptacle is "not less than" the 30 amp circuit.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:37 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Lets's see... a 50 amp receptacle on a 30 amp circuit...

210.21(B)(B) Receptacles.
(1) Single Receptacle on an Individual Branch Circuit.
A single receptacle installed on an individual branch circuit
shall have an ampere rating not less than that of the branch
circuit.
It's legal, so many people misread that section.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:38 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1percenter View Post
I would prefer something small/flush like you listed however i plan to put this outdoors, do they sell something that would prevent it from getting wet?
Just buy a weather proof cover.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:42 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
50 amp receptacle is "not less than" the 30 amp circuit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
It's legal, so many people misread that section.

Brain fart. It happens.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:44 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Just buy a weather proof cover.
you can tell i am new to this, but thanks i will go to my local home depot and see what i can find.

I would really like to install a subpanel but seeing as my whole garage has cement all around i really don't feel like tearing up cement.
1percenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:45 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Brain fart. It happens.
Absolutely, I have my share thats for sure!
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:48 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1percenter View Post
you can tell i am new to this, but thanks i will go to my local home depot and see what i can find.

I would really like to install a subpanel but seeing as my whole garage has cement all around i really don't feel like tearing up cement.
Look for Taymac brand, and your going to want to install that in a two gang box, so look for a 2 gang wp cover with multiple applications.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:06 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Look for Taymac brand, and your going to want to install that in a two gang box, so look for a 2 gang wp cover with multiple applications.
Thanks! i will use your brand recommendation, i found some at HD which i think will work,




This is probably a stupid question, but does the Electrical Box need to be attached to a stud? or can it just be placed on the stucco and held in place by that?
1percenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:10 PM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1percenter View Post
Thanks! i will use your brand recommendation, i found some at HD which i think will work,




This is probably a stupid question, but does the Electrical Box need to be attached to a stud? or can it just be placed on the stucco and held in place by that?
The bell box is for surface applications, you want some deep old work boxes that you can combine to a 2 gang box.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:24 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


is it okay if these deep old work boxes are plastic? i can't seem to find any made of metal.
1percenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:29 PM   #15
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

240v receptacle below main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1percenter View Post
is it okay if these deep old work boxes are plastic? i can't seem to find any made of metal.
Plastic will be fine.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Electric Panel Help Redrum Ninja Electrical 13 10-22-2011 07:28 PM
200A upgrade and move, backfeeding permitted? WillK Electrical 3 05-30-2011 08:00 PM
Two sub panels off of main panel OK? brjl Electrical 4 05-29-2011 01:33 PM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 09:40 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.