Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2012, 05:20 AM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Share |
Default

240V Question


Call an electrician, you sound like you are over your head.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:02 AM   #17
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

240V Question


I do lots of these. The most cost effective way I have found to do it is to use an aluminum feeder from the house to the remote building. Use a 2-2-2-4 direct burial wire set. Install a 100 amp main breaker panel in the remote building and drive a ground rod out there. Connect these wires to a double pole 90 amp breaker in the house. In the remote building panel, install a ground terminal strip to keep the grounds and neutrals separate and do not bond the neutral strips to the panel. Eliminate the existing circuit to the building.

This should get you started. Just ask more questions as you go, or hire a local electrician.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 02:54 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 18
Default

240V Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
I do lots of these. The most cost effective way I have found to do it is to use an aluminum feeder from the house to the remote building. Use a 2-2-2-4 direct burial wire set. Install a 100 amp main breaker panel in the remote building and drive a ground rod out there. Connect these wires to a double pole 90 amp breaker in the house. In the remote building panel, install a ground terminal strip to keep the grounds and neutrals separate and do not bond the neutral strips to the panel. Eliminate the existing circuit to the building.

This should get you started. Just ask more questions as you go, or hire a local electrician.
You, sir, are a gentleman and a scholar. That's virtually all of the info i needed to get started. I realized that the cable run out to my shed currently is not in conduit, but rubber hose instead, so i will absolutely have to dig that up. It's also not going to give me enough power, as it is only a single 12-2 wire on a 20 amp breaker.

Thank you very much for the detailed response and info.

PumpedUpKicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator connection Question - Final Plan Apollo67 Electrical 24 01-30-2012 07:44 PM
Do you think a tool running at 240v works better than at 120v? Piedmont Electrical 39 07-03-2009 09:50 PM
Question on 240v double pole breaker locations rovers1973 Electrical 10 02-14-2009 05:15 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 10:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.