Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-28-2012, 05:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

240V Question


Hey gents, i'm wiring up a stand-alone workshop on my property and i want to be able to have access to 240v for my big air compressor and my welder. I'd also like to run a separate 120 line(20amp) for everything else.
The run from the breaker panel in the house out to the workshop is roughly 100-125 ft and i have about 7 empty spots on the panel to add whatever i need.

I'm trying to write out a materials list so i can buy everything i need, but I have never wired up 240 before and i need some help. What kind of wire should i be using for 240 in order to run it that distance? Also, how should i set up the 240 line on the breaker? Am i leaving any factors out of consideration here?

Admittedly, i'm a noob at this, so any help or pointers are greatly appreciated!

PumpedUpKicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 05:59 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


You are going to need a sub panel in the workshop...what size?...couldn't tell you unless you can list the specs of the welder and compressor.

You need to do some research on this. There are any number of threads on this forum for you to check out.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 05:59 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,089
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by PumpedUpKicks View Post
Hey gents, i'm wiring up a stand-alone workshop on my property and i want to be able to have access to 240v for my big air compressor and my welder. I'd also like to run a separate 120 line(20amp) for everything else.
The run from the breaker panel in the house out to the workshop is roughly 100-125 ft and i have about 7 empty spots on the panel to add whatever i need.

I'm trying to write out a materials list so i can buy everything i need, but I have never wired up 240 before and i need some help. What kind of wire should i be using for 240 in order to run it that distance? Also, how should i set up the 240 line on the breaker? Am i leaving any factors out of consideration here?

Admittedly, i'm a noob at this, so any help or pointers are greatly appreciated!

First off, is the workshop attached to the main structure or remote?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 06:05 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,784
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
First off, is the workshop attached to the main structure or remote?
The run from the breaker panel in the house out to the workshop is roughly 100-125 ft

I think thats the answer!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 06:06 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


By stand-alone, i meant remote. It's about 100 feet from the house.
PumpedUpKicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 06:08 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,089
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
The run from the breaker panel in the house out to the workshop is roughly 100-125 ft

I think thats the answer!
at least I don't assume its attached.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 06:42 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


So, as i've read a tiny bit, it would seem that i need a sub panel in my shed if i want 2 separate circuits. I'm still unsure about what kind of cable i should use to run enough electricity for a 240 and a separate 120. 10/4?
PumpedUpKicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 06:43 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,089
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by PumpedUpKicks View Post
So, as i've read a tiny bit, it would seem that i need a sub panel in my shed if i want 2 separate circuits. I'm still unsure about what kind of cable i should use to run enough electricity for a 240 and a separate 120. 10/4?
The load will determine the wire size.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:20 PM   #9
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,623
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


Need the size of the welder and the size of the compressor and whether both units will be running at the same time---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:24 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


The plan was to have the ability to run them both at the same time. Both off the 240v circuit. That's why i wanted to run a separate 120v line for everything else.

I don't have the specifics right in front of me, but while running, they'd both draw somewhere in the neighborhood of 2,000 watts each.
PumpedUpKicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:29 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


You would run only one feed from the house panel to the shed subpanel. This would consist of two hots, a neutral to obtain 120 volts, and a ground.

Since you mentioned a welder, chances are you would need #6 copper conductors allowing a draw of 60 amps from each of the two hot conductors which would include the 120 volt usage between each hot wire and the neutral. (Are you sure the welder draws only 2000 watts?)

If you already have a feed from house to shed and that is not heavy enough, then that has to be decommissioned. It could be resurrected for lights that are controlled from both house and shed (fed with power from the shed subpanel).
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-28-2012 at 07:37 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:43 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
You would run only one feed from the house panel to the shed subpanel. This would consist of two hots, a neutral to obtain 120 volts, and a ground.
What kind of wiring/cable would you use for the feed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Since you mentioned a welder, chances are you would need #6 copper conductors allowing a draw of 60 amps from each of the two hot conductors which would include the 120 volt usage between each hot wire and the neutral. (Are you sure the welder draws only 2000 watts?)
Not to sound blonde, but where would i need #6 copper conductors? You mean the wiring to the shed would need to consist of #6 copper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
If you already have a feed from house to shed and that is not heavy enough, then that has to be decommissioned. It could be resurrected for lights that are controlled from both house and shed (fed with power from the shed subpanel).
Yes, i already have a feed going out there, which is only rated for 30amps. A basic cable for lights and outlets on a 20amp breaker.
PumpedUpKicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 09:44 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


Is the existing feed (one hot and neutral and ground) 120 volts only, or (two hots and neutral and ground) 120 and 240 volts?

For 30 amps max you would have #10 gauge feed wires.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-28-2012 at 09:46 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 02:18 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


The existing wire gauge is 12/10, I know it's max capacity is 120v
PumpedUpKicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 05:17 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 0
Default

240V Question


You need to start thinking / talking correctly.

You say the existing wire gauge is 12/10. ???

Which is it? 12 or 10 gauge.

"I know its max capacity is 120v" . Well i'll bet if you look on the wire it says 600 volts...

You can put 120 volts or 240 volts (up to 600 ) on a wire.
Now, how many wires and how they are hooked up determines if the circuit is going to be 120 or 240. (were just talking residential here )

For an unattached garage like that, you should only run one feed to it.
So you would use a '3 conductor with ground' cable. A black, red, and white wire with bare ground, typically.
The black and red to the double pole breaker at the house, the white to the neutral bar and ground to ground bar.
Now you have 240 volts out to the garage sub panel.
You can pull 120 volts off of it by just using the black ( or red ) and the white. Plus ground.

Now the wire SIZE is where it gets expensive.
A little 14/3 cable will get you 240 volts out there. But you are limited to 15 amp breaker.

A 6/3 cable will get you 240 volts also, but you will be able to draw enough amperage to run your compressor and welder and lights . Probably... You need to check machines to see what they draw.
You might want to run 4/3.
And those cables cost quit a bit more than 14/3.

So there is no magic answer. It depends on what you are planning to have running to decide what size wire.

And I agree with AllanJ, 2000 watts seems low for a welder.


Last edited by jammin06; 06-29-2012 at 05:22 AM.
jammin06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator connection Question - Final Plan Apollo67 Electrical 24 01-30-2012 07:44 PM
Do you think a tool running at 240v works better than at 120v? Piedmont Electrical 39 07-03-2009 09:50 PM
Question on 240v double pole breaker locations rovers1973 Electrical 10 02-14-2009 05:15 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 10:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.