240v Hot Tub Bonding - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2010, 11:03 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240v hot tub bonding


I am putting a 240v hot tub on an existing concrete patio that does not have an equipontential grid in it. It does have wire mesh as a typical patio does. The hot tub will hard-wired (not plugged). How do I install an effective bonding grid? What can be done besides a metal grid (wood walkways around?)

Advertisement

Scott_farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 11:32 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

240v hot tub bonding


You need to contact the inspector and go over the project/plans. Find out now what he wants. The equipotential bonding grid is a requirement and important for safety. This is serious business and you better find out now what is required before you do anything else. [STOP] [CALL]

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 11:54 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240v hot tub bonding


I understand the requirement and have already contacted the inspector. My question was "How do I install the grid" and who understands the Article 680.26

I understand the requirement is needed for safety, and I have the elctricle inspector requrement, which is why I asked if anyone understands code 620.26 "Equipotential Bonding" and how to satisfy the electrical code.
Scott_farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 12:06 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,015
Rewards Points: 2,828
Default

240v hot tub bonding


Your inspector may make you chip out to access the wire mesh that is already in the slab. They may also have an alternative idea to satisfy the grid requirement.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring two 240v appliances to one circuit brandykn Electrical 2 02-02-2010 10:44 PM
New 240V receptacle reads zero volts Madroaster Electrical 32 09-19-2009 01:35 PM
Do you think a tool running at 240v works better than at 120v? Piedmont Electrical 39 07-03-2009 10:50 PM
wiring a 240V baseboard heater 777 Electrical 10 05-17-2009 11:47 AM
Wire size for 300watt trans, 3 way 100ft Al the Diy guy Electrical 16 03-22-2008 09:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts