240V Breaker In Single Panel Space? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2011, 07:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default

240V breaker in single panel space?


This is probably a dumb question, but here goes...

I have a Q06-12L-100S subpanel, which has six spaces for breakers. So, I could put in 12 half-size breakers. But, I'm short on space and I need to add a 240V circuit.

Do I have to use two of my six spaces for a 240V breaker? Or, is there a breaker that fits into a single space?

Thanks
Eric

Advertisement

mn1247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 07:10 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

240V breaker in single panel space?


You will have to use two spaces for that 240 Volt circuit. That will leave 4 spaces, or up to 8 single pole circuits, if you use tandem type breakers.

Square D does not make tandem type QO 2-pole breakers these days.

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 08:56 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default

240V breaker in single panel space?


Thanks for the explanations. So, what would you suggest I do if I need more space? Would I need to change out the whole panel? Or, would a "quad breaker" be the way to go?

I only need one 240V circuit. And, all the existing spaces already have tandems, except one.

Eric

Last edited by mn1247; 07-24-2011 at 09:08 AM.
mn1247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 10:15 AM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,569
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

240V breaker in single panel space?


A quad is definitely the best solution to that problem, if they make a suitable quad for that panel. You can use the two other poles that you're not using for the 240V circuit for something else.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 11:09 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,997
Rewards Points: 2,792
Default

240V breaker in single panel space?


I have never seen a QO quad. I think the solution would be to install a larger panel. I they use the same brand all the parts can transfer over.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (07-24-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 09:28 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Hot water flate rate conversion to breaker panel curlycord Electrical 1 05-06-2009 08:24 PM
I can "double" the wires to each breaker in my breaker panel right? Piedmont Electrical 40 10-01-2008 12:18 PM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 11:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts