240v Appliances With 120V Outlets - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2009, 10:05 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


We will be moving to a new house within a week. We will be bringing our appliances along. However, the dryer and the stove have a large 3 prong plug (240V). The house does not have the outlets for us to use them.
I do not want to get rid of my stove and dryer, I would like to keep them and use them. We were looking at hiring an electricain, but found it will cost us a lot of money.
Is there an easy solution to this problem?
The house is wired for 120V appliances, not 240V.

Advertisement

raevenbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:08 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


Quote:
Is there an easy solution to this problem?
Buy new gas appliances. It will be less expensive or equal to running new circuits. Sell your old appliances to help offset the cost.

(I am asuming there is gas stubs at the appliance locations)




Each electric appliance requires it's own 240V circuit @ about $300 each.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:21 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


The current stove is electric. The dryer is gas.
Guess I would have to sell them
raevenbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 12:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by raevenbox View Post
The current stove is electric. The dryer is gas.
Guess I would have to sell them
It depends on how much you can do electrically. Have you ever performed any electrical installations? Fishing cables, installing receptacles or switches? If the answer is yes, then you can do this and we can help you.

How much did the electrician say it would cost? You say it is was expensive? You have to look at materials (cheap) and labor (not cheap) but free if you do this yourself. You also have to look at your capabilities. If you are up for the job let us know. You can have your appliances ready to be plugged in before you move in.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 02:50 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


We have no experience with electrical. Just found out that stove is gas as well. Guess I have to switch to gas.
Thanks for all your input.
raevenbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 02:51 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbia Heights/NE Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 75
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


Take a picture of your panel (with the cover off, if possible) so we can see what we're working with here.

You need two free slots for each 240 volt circuit. If it's already full, this could be beyond a DIY fix for the original poster.

If you have 2 free slots (or can free them up moving other circuits to tandems), then hook up your stove, but sell the electric dryer and get a gas one. (Gas dryers are much faster, and are less expensive to run.)
thegonagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 03:03 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


I'd stick with the exisiting gas appliances in the house if new(er)
Is it gas heat too ?

Are your existing electric appliances new ?
DIY connection for electric would run under $100 for both
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 04:33 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


Okay, we took a look at the panel. It does have 2 larger free spaces that we could use. We ran into another problem.........
The panle is in a different room than the laundry room and the panel is no where near the kitchen and one room away from the laundry room.

Again, we don't have any experience in electrical. But the cost sounds great! It has already been a headache trying to find new/used appliances that would fit and sell the ones we have.

I think the heat is gas. The appliances in their already are MUCh older. The dryer doesn't work and the stove is older than ours. Our appliances are under 4 years old and are in great condition.
raevenbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 05:06 PM   #9
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


I would say it would be cheaper to change out to electric appliances. Cost more than a $100 but cheaper than new appliances
jbberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 06:23 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


cheaper to do what?
raevenbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 06:31 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


You can configure an electric dryer to operate on a 120 Volt source.

Be advised that it will take 3-4 times longer to dry a wet load of clothes, when so connected.

If you connected an electric range in a similar manner, it might also work, albeit quite marginally.

The heating elements would only produce their rated wattage, and cooking would be quite a task with limited heat output.

Best to stick with gas appliances in your situation for the time being.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:07 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


Quote:
the dryer and the stove have a large 3 prong plug (240V).

Quote:
The current stove is electric. The dryer is gas.

I am a bit confused. The existing stove is electric but doesn't have a receptacle?

In that case, the modification is pretty simple. Install a jbox, a receptacle and plug in your stove. Parts $30, labor 1 hour (or a half day if you do it).

If the existing dryer is gas, just use it. A new dryer circuit will be $300 minimum.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:13 PM   #13
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


A gas stove is a lot nicer than an electric stove in a lot of people's opinion. Consider it a free upgrade.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:48 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


Quote:
A gas stove is a lot nicer than an electric stove in a lot of people's opinion. Consider it a free upgrade.
Quote:
The current stove is electric
See? I'm not the only one confused.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:59 PM   #15
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

240v appliances with 120V outlets


[quote=kbsparky;295850]You can configure an electric dryer to operate on a 120 Volt source.

Be advised that it will take 3-4 times longer to dry a wet load of clothes, when so connected.

If you connected an electric range in a similar manner, it might also work, albeit quite marginally.

The heating elements would only produce their rated wattage, and cooking would be quite a task with limited heat output.

Best to stick with gas appliances in your situation for the time being.


Don't go with this idea!

Advertisement

jbberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v Air Compressor to 120v help ruacoltsnut General DIY Discussions 10 11-11-2010 05:05 PM
Do you think a tool running at 240v works better than at 120v? Piedmont Electrical 39 07-03-2009 10:50 PM
2008 NEC - 120V and 240V receptacles on the same MWBC? ScottR Electrical 10 06-05-2009 11:39 PM
Multiple 240V appliances wirefixer Electrical 2 03-29-2009 03:00 PM
Understanding 120V branch loads in 100A 240V system WaldenL Electrical 17 02-17-2009 10:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts