Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2009, 09:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

240v 3 prong outlet ISSUES!!


So to this point I've read just about everything on 240v, 3 prong wiring and I'm still stuck.

I bought a 240v, 4800w 20amp garage heater. I added the 30amp circuit (noted on the box as the required circuit), ran the 10/2 wire (it happens to be 10 CU 2, if that makes a difference, I was told it didn't), connected the 6-30p outlet, tested L1-ground, and L2-ground, each at 120v and...... the heater doesn't work.

I'm sure I'm missing something tremendously simple, but it's completely evading me.

JanosX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 09:26 PM   #2
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,198
Default

240v 3 prong outlet ISSUES!!


Remove the breaker and make sure that it's a on using both busses. I had to shift a few breakers around in my panel to get a DP breaker to use both busses. Your panel might be arranged the same way.

To rule out a connection issue down the line test the two hots right at the breaker (be cautious while you have the cover removed while it's live).

edit: and also test at the plug, never even took into consideration it might be the heater itself.


Last edited by Red Squirrel; 12-04-2009 at 09:33 PM.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 09:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

240v 3 prong outlet ISSUES!!


New heater or used ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 09:39 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default

240v 3 prong outlet ISSUES!!


You nailed it Red squirrel. I had the double breaker on the same bus.

I knew it was simple, just couldn't wrap my head around it.

Thanks.
JanosX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 01:00 PM   #5
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,198
Default

240v 3 prong outlet ISSUES!!


Glad to hear that worked! Always nice when it turns out to be something simple that requires little change.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
240v, 30amp, garage heater


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit? npage148 Electrical 12 11-08-2009 11:29 AM
3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET? Casey_Oakland Electrical 17 05-21-2009 08:26 PM
dryer Outlet change 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate General DIY Discussions 2 08-06-2008 06:18 PM
240V Kiln Outlet to Air Conditioner Outlet artman Electrical 8 06-29-2008 06:21 PM
Adding an outlet on a 240V circuit? Kjunk Electrical 6 05-31-2008 09:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.