Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-20-2011, 09:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 90
Share |
Default

240 Well Pump uses 12/2 Wire?


Our shallow well pump has just about bit the dust. Because the well and equipment is so old, I've been nursing it along until we can get a new well drilled. Yesterday, the well man came. He said because we already have 240 volts to the pump, they would be able to reuse that wire to the panel. The wire is 12/2 Romex. I asked and he said it did not have a neutral. The two hots are attached to the switch and the ground goes back to the panel.

It has been bugging me, so I'll ask. How does the pump work with no neutral wire? I understand the hot wires to the switch, but doesn't the pump need a neutral wire for the electricity to "flow"?

The pump is connected to the bottom of the well via black iron and galvanized pipe. Does the pipe act as the neutral?

brgmgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 10:04 AM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

240 Well Pump uses 12/2 Wire?


The current goes out one hot leg and returns on the other. Back and forth. No neutral required.

Tell me this romex is not underground or in the well casing.

Code05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 10:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 90
Default

240 Well Pump uses 12/2 Wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
The current goes out one hot leg and returns on the other. Back and forth. No neutral required.

Tell me this romex is not underground or in the well casing.
The current pump is in the basement. The Romex runs along the wall the 15 feet from the panel to the pump. He said he would put a box there to connect the wire to the new submersible pump.

I did a little searching after posting the original. They said the neutral in driers, ovens, etc, is for 110v components such as timers and clocks. It actually makes sense now. Thanks!
brgmgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 10:26 AM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

240 Well Pump uses 12/2 Wire?


Here is an example of a dryer or range.


Code05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
12/2 wire in contact with Hot water pipe (copper) - Dangerous? Tryvidy Electrical 6 04-21-2009 07:35 PM
12/2 wire vs "heater wire" shtoink Electrical 11 11-23-2008 02:16 PM
Question: Is using 12/2 wire, ok on 15amp breaker/outlets? ehoez Electrical 3 07-14-2008 07:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.