240 Volt Sub Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2014, 12:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
dasbinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240 volt sub panel


I would like to run 240v to my garage. The plan is to install a sub-panel, inside the house where the A/C #8 wire exits.

Will a sub-panel support the A/C compressor and 240v to the garage?

Note: Currently the detached garage is fed by a 30A fuse (120v), ran through buried conduit.

http://imgur.com/D3HVRFq - Service Panel Make/Type
http://imgur.com/wkNU8hy - Service Panel Wiring


P.S. I did not think that I could justify starting a new thread when, seemingly, such a similar one already existed. I apologize for any inconvenience.

Advertisement

dasbinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 01:07 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

240 volt sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by dasbinder View Post
I would like to run 240v to my garage. The plan is to install a sub-panel, inside the house where the A/C #8 wire exits.

Will a sub-panel support the A/C compressor and 240v to the garage?

Note: Currently the detached garage is fed by a 30A fuse (120v), ran through buried conduit.

http://imgur.com/D3HVRFq - Service Panel Make/Type
http://imgur.com/wkNU8hy - Service Panel Wiring


P.S. I did not think that I could justify starting a new thread when, seemingly, such a similar one already existed. I apologize for any inconvenience.
Please do start a new thread for the benefit of the Original poster, and others.

Advertisement

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sirsparksalot For This Useful Post:
dasbinder (02-08-2014)
Old 02-08-2014, 08:38 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,554
Rewards Points: 4,746
Default

240 volt sub panel


Made this its own thread. So no confuses you and the OP if the OP has more questions.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
dasbinder (02-08-2014)
Old 02-08-2014, 08:44 AM   #4
Newbie
 
dasbinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240 volt sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Made this its own thread. So no confuses you and the OP if the OP has more questions.
Mods, thank you.

I did not pay close enough attention; I created another thread.
Please delete my other thread "Sub-panel to support A/C (HVAC) and 240v"
dasbinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 08:46 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,554
Rewards Points: 4,746
Default

240 volt sub panel


Already done.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
dasbinder (02-08-2014)
Old 02-08-2014, 11:12 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,054
Rewards Points: 2,906
Default

240 volt sub panel


Two problems, the A/C needs its own circuit and there is no neutral in the circuit either. You are going to need to run a new circuit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 02:04 PM   #7
Newbie
 
dasbinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240 volt sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Two problems, the A/C needs its own circuit and there is no neutral in the circuit either. You are going to need to run a new circuit.
I updated the image from inside the panel ... http://imgur.com/IL4EAqA

My fuse diagram from when the AC was added, shows this 25A circuit for A/C and Furnace. The 'Range' used to be a an electric dryer, before it was used for the A/C ... http://imgur.com/9sZfgci

Advertisement

dasbinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
240v , detached , fuse box , garage , sub panel


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use panel as a junction box? LynnX Electrical 18 01-05-2014 06:56 PM
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 06:27 PM
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 11:49 AM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 01:43 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts