Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2009, 07:01 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Share |
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


options? I'm running it now at 120v but all the 120v outlets are on same circuit as the garage lights and breaker trips frequently. There's a 240 outlet (originally for a welder) but it's 15-20 ft away. Can I drop something retractable from the ceiling? Floor is poured slab so adding an outlet in it would be a lot of work. Thanks.

philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 07:45 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


Yup they have retractable outlets
You just need tomake sure it is rated for the saw
And that it doesn't have too much wire as that will cause voltage drop


Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 09:35 AM   #3
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,426
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


Need more information. Wire size and breaker of the welder outlet. Table saw motor amps and voltage. Check out a cable guard system similar to this:
http://www.checkersindustrial.com/pr...FQYMDQodwE1zJQ
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:32 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canonsburg, PA (Pittsburgh)
Posts: 430
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


Are you sure you want the power cord coming down from the ceiling? You likely put the saw in the middle of the garage so you could work all the way around the saw. A power cord from the ceiling will be in the way more often than you think.

Rege
RegeSullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:46 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


I'm away from town now but it's a Delta "contractor's saw". The current ones are 1.5 HP. Nor do I remember what amps the existing 240 outlet is - from my recollection of the cable it's 30A.

But the floor "guard" system might work fine regardless.

As for the retractable, the one in the picture looks to me to be 120V. Are there 240V (say 20 A) ones sold in US? I Googled "240V retractable" and got nothing useful.

I suppose even if I just wired a ceiling outlet from a different 120V circuit than the lights, and then used a 120V 12 gauge retractable with a short cord, it'd help.
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:18 PM   #6
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,426
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


You saw will perform better at 240 volts. I would try and use the existing welder outlet circuit to power your saw, if the wire is suitable. You may have to change the breaker and receptical to 15 amp @240 volt.
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 03:09 PM   #7
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


For the cost of a new 20A breaker, you could easily convert that 240V outlet to a 20A 120V outlet, assuming thats 12/2 that feeds that circuit, then you would have a dedicated circuit for your saw.
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 04:56 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


Rege -- Duh....good point! So I'll go with 47's floor guard system.

47 -- Yup, that's why I want it on 240 V. It won't bog down ripping 2x wet DF or any sort of hardwood and will be both faster and safer. But why 15 A as opposed to 20A or even 30 if the receptacle is currently wired 10-2 + g? Seems to me I've read a bunch of threads on this exact same issue but I don't know what I'd search for.

And is a 240V extension cord legal? I know it's not for a 240V appliance but a shop tool isn't an appliance -- or is it? Ah, duh ... just put a longer cord on the saw with the right cord cap!
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 05:05 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


run metal conduit across the floor with a box for a recep at the end to plug in to. Run it to the panel or to a junction box and then NM from there to the panel if legal.

attach the conduit to the floor with one or two hole straps and tapcon concrete screws or some other form of solid and sturdy attachement.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 05:25 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


I have a ceiling outlet tapped off of old HVAC cabling. It works for me.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 06:44 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


nap -- Naah. I think even 1/2" emt on floor would be a trip hazard and there's no reason to wire a new circuit when I've already got 240 to the garage. Besides, the panel is a pain to get to and it's a full SqD QO which means buying another tandem which is spendy.

Yoyizit - I may still consider it but rege's point about a drop cord getting in the way makes sense to me.

Unless someone explains why I need to use a 15 A receptacle, I'll use a 20A 240V recep and a 20A breaker and rig a new 12 gauge cord that I'll run through some brand of floor guard.

Thanks for the input!
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 06:47 PM   #12
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,566
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


Code-wise, there's nothing I know of that prevents the use of a 240 volt extension cord. We use them on a very regular basis on construction jobs as temporary power feeds. Some of the industrial places I work at have 480 volt 3 phase extension cords. Just make sure to use a 250 volt receptacle and plug.

Code-wise, the maximum circuit size for a 2 HP single phase motor operating at 240 volts is 30 amps. If it's 1-1/2 HP, the maximum is 25 amps.

Rob

P.S. You'll notice considerably more power if the saw is operated at 240 volts. In theory, there's no difference. In reality, there's quite a difference.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 07:02 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 28
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


Re-wire the saw with some heavy duty 10-3 SOOW wire so you can reach that 240 outlet. That way you can coil it up after use.
naehring2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:07 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
We use them on a very regular basis on construction jobs as temporary power feeds. Some of the industrial places I work at have 480 volt 3 phase extension cords. Just make sure to use a 250 volt receptacle and plug.
You have a link?
I'm wondering if they follow the 125v Grainger rules; #14 and larger, 15A
and max. voltage drop @ rated current = 3%.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:29 PM   #15
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

240 table saw in middle of garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
Code-wise, there's nothing I know of that prevents the use of a 240 volt extension cord. We use them on a very regular basis on construction jobs as temporary power feeds. Some of the industrial places I work at have 480 volt 3 phase extension cords. Just make sure to use a 250 volt receptacle and plug.
.
I noticed you said "temporary" several times and that is the key word.

We are talking about a permanent install and an extension cord is not code compliant. PLUS if you use a cord, it is to be GFCI protected and unless you have a cheap and easy access to a 240 volt GFCI, that would also put a stop to the extension cord.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raising up my garage jimmyfloyd Building & Construction 5 09-17-2009 10:39 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
new double garage murray1426 Building & Construction 4 05-23-2009 01:11 PM
Garage ceiling and attic storage DIY KEN Building & Construction 7 01-06-2009 04:57 PM
Question about table saws,... tribaloverkill Tools 28 04-13-2007 08:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.