Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-13-2011, 07:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240 outlet to welder


I acquired an old 30-200 Craftsman welder. I have 240/50 amp service in my garage. My garage service is 3 wire (black/red/white). The old plug on the welder is 3 wire (black/white/green).
I need to rewire a new male plug on my welder.
I know black (service) to black (welder). I assume white (service) to green (welder). I guess red (service) to white (welder).

Guidance please.
Thanks.
Chris

Chris D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 08:18 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

240 outlet to welder


Wow you scare me with your guess... Let me help you out its easy.

Black to black
White to white
Bare copper to Green

Cap the Red you don't need it....

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 08:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240 outlet to welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Wow you scare me with your guess... Let me help you out its easy.

Black to black
White to white
Bare copper to Green

Cap the Red you don't need it....
Thanks for the quick response.
I can do black to black and white to white but...I don't have any bare copper. A total of 3 wire in my garage service: black/red/white, no ground. As I previously mentioned, the old plug on the welder also has 3 wires total: black/white/green.

I still need some guidance.

Thanks.

Chris
Chris D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 08:34 PM   #4
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

240 outlet to welder


So in the panel itself there is no bare wire?
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 08:53 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

240 outlet to welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Wow you scare me with your guess... Let me help you out its easy.

Black to black
White to white
Bare copper to Green

Cap the Red you don't need it....
Sorry, but this reply is similarly scary.

The way you are describing will give him a 120v feed to a 240v welder.
His original description is almost right.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 08:54 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

240 outlet to welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris D. View Post
I acquired an old 30-200 Craftsman welder. I have 240/50 amp service in my garage. My garage service is 3 wire (black/red/white). The old plug on the welder is 3 wire (black/white/green).
I need to rewire a new male plug on my welder.
I know black (service) to black (welder). I assume white (service) to green (welder). I guess red (service) to white (welder).
OK, clear this up. WHAT is a "service" in your eyes?

Is this simply a receptacle? Or is this feeing a sub-panel?
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 09:30 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240 outlet to welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
So in the panel itself there is no bare wire?
I opened up the panel and the ground had not been wired to the service outlet. I did the black/black, white/white, ground/ground and capped the red.

Thank you very much for the guidance and patience.

Chris
Chris D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 09:32 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

240 outlet to welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Wow you scare me with your guess... Let me help you out its easy.

Black to black
White to white
Bare copper to Green

Cap the Red you don't need it....
To second what Speedy Petey said, this is completely wrong, and not even possible given the arrangement he described (there is no "bare copper" to connect to). His original guess is fine.

The welder is using black and white as the two hot conductors for a 240V circuit. That means the white connects to the house's red conductor.

The green can connect to the house's white conductor for grounding, just like an old fashioned dryer. Unlike an old fashioned 3-wire dryer, there is no hazard presented by that since the welder doesn't use that conductor as a return for 120V loads.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 04:04 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

240 outlet to welder


So I guess it works. Awesome.

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 08:41 AM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 06:13 PM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Welder outlet question coyote556 Electrical 4 12-03-2007 04:30 PM
adding 20amp outlet for for welder Geophile Electrical 12 05-03-2007 09:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.