Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2010, 02:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

23VAC parallel switches ?


Hi

I want to control my whole house ducted Dehumidifier with 2 separate Thermostats with built in dehumidistats each.

If stat 1 calls for dehumidifier then it will close switch and complete 23 vac to trigger dehumidifier.

If stat 2 calls for dehumidifier then it will close switch and complete 23 vac to trigger dehumidifier.

If BOTH stat 1+2 calls for dehumidifier will i be sending 23+23vac = 46 vac to the dehumidifier on terminal? or is it always 23 VAC i don't want to damage the unit.

Will my crude drawing below work ok?

Thanks Again



Charlie123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 06:24 AM   #2
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

23VAC parallel switches ?


The switching portion of your drawing will work fine. You are applying the same voltage from the same source to both t-stats so the voltage will not be doubled. If both t-stats switch on the humidifier it will just keep it running until both have been satisfied.

The part of your drawing that doesn't look right is that you are showing the voltage looping back to the xfmr when it should be going to the coil of the contactor that starts the dehumidifier. I think you probably know that and just didn't draw it right. Good luck!

sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 07:08 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

23VAC parallel switches ?


I agree with post #2.

It's a wire-OR circuit.
If one OR the other OR both switches close, the dehumid. works
but
your diagram shows the switches shorting the dehumid's transformer.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 07:08 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

23VAC parallel switches ?


Caution for those eavesdropping. Do not connect this up literally as shown, you will short out the transformer.

There must be a load in the circuit with the transformer output and the thermostats.

The contactor coil or input (mentioned above but not pictured) is a load, an acceptable load.

The transformer output (secondary) is a source, not a load. Switches and thermostats and humidstats are not loads. The contactor output or controlled contacts is a switch and not a load.

If the humidifier (machine) has just two exposed terminals labeled "for 23 (or 24 or 32) volt thermostat" then you may connect up both thermostats as pictured above.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-07-2010 at 07:16 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about switches on a 20 amp circuit Abs777 Electrical 6 04-28-2010 10:09 AM
Replacing switches turning into nightmare. RyanD Electrical 19 05-26-2009 06:19 PM
wiring 2 hi/low/limit switches in parallel CowboyAndy HVAC 3 12-11-2008 01:50 PM
light switches wired in series -- why? magnolia Electrical 2 05-11-2008 11:16 AM
Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit magnolia Electrical 3 05-09-2008 09:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.