230v Fan - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2012, 04:06 PM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

230v fan

I have a black wire, a brown wire a blue wire and a yellow wire with a green stripe coming from the fan. Can I hook this fan up to a 110v line ? If I can , could you tell me which color goes to the blk, the white and the ground. I did try several different ways, the motor did turn, but only at a slow rpm. You have stated that there is a red wire coming from the 230v fan, I do not have a red wire


wayne jean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 04:12 PM   #2
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 75

On the side of the motor or housing there should be
a motor lead connection diagram that shows if you can
run that motor on 120 v or not.


jammin06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 04:20 PM   #3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

thank you for the reply
wayne jean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 05:33 PM   #4
joed's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,795
Rewards Points: 10,382
Blog Entries: 11

The green and yellow stripe is ground. If the motor says 240 volts then it will not operate on 120 volts. If it says 120/240 volts then it can operate on 120 or 240 volts and there should be a drawing on the motor. If there is not drawing then post the make make and model number and maybe we can help.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 11:05 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
frenchelectrican's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000


To really help you on this fan motour we do defentaly need model number due there are few differnt way to connect it.

However if this motour is straight 240 volts ( it will say on the infomation plate or sticker on the motour ) then you have a true 240 volts possiblty two speed motour maybe three ( I doubt it ) due you have brown conductor most likely used with capaitour.

But before I can comment more as other mention s.v.p. get the model number that will really assit us alot.

The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 06:24 AM   #6
biggles's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000

if the motor info tag doesn't show VOLTS:115/230,and you don't see a neutral connection on that schematic it's not 115V


biggles is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pulling 115v from a 230v and adding a ground paulmars Electrical 29 12-16-2009 11:27 AM
Using Internatinal 230v Devices in US vann Electrical 3 07-09-2009 08:03 AM
230V motor samnoa Electrical 2 02-16-2009 07:47 PM
230v appliaces only seeing 7v toolmanwannabe Electrical 5 02-15-2007 02:35 PM
Installing a 230v outlet ThePlumber Electrical 7 07-15-2006 10:16 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1