230 Volt Outlet In Workshop - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2010, 12:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

230 volt outlet in workshop


I would like to install a 230 volt outlet in my workshop so that I can install an air conditioner so I can finally use my shop during the summer in the sweltering North Cackalacky summer months . My father-in-law is giving me a large piece of wire that is 8/4. What kind of circuit breaker should I install in my panel box? How do I wire the red, black, white, and green wires to the breaker? Can this wire be run directly to a 230 outlet in my shop (will be the only 230v 'tool' in the shop)? Thanks for your help!

Advertisement

jimmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 01:14 PM   #2
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,297
Rewards Points: 2,172
Default

230 volt outlet in workshop


We will let the pros handle the details of install. You should note that you only attach the red and black wires to the breaker, since those are the hots. The white wire goes to the neutral on the panel, which you may not need if this is a 240 volt air conditioner outlet. The green is the ground, which attaches to the equipment grounding bar in your subpanel.

You said this was a workshop (separate building I assume), so the equipment grounding bar in the subpanel should NOT be bonded to the neutral bar on your subpanel. If you do not understand what this means, or are not sure how to check, you should get help from someone who does know how to verify and correct if the panel is incorrectly wired.

As for the size of the breaker, that depends on the AC draw. If you are putting in a 30A AC unit, then you need a 30A 240V breaker. I believe #8 wire is rated maximum to 40A (check NEC, I don't have it with me where I am at this moment). This would mean that the wire can handle up to 40A, which would allow you a maximum 40A breaker, but you could put a smaller breaker in.

Advertisement

Daniel Holzman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 01:18 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

230 volt outlet in workshop


A 240v receptacle can be 15, 20, 30, 40, 50, etc, amps.
As stated, #8cu cable can be used on a 40A circuit. If this is just for an A/C I would not bother using it. It will be a PAIN to work with if you only need a 15, 20 or 30 amp circuit.

I would just find the A/C you want to use and get the correct wire for it. If you find an 18k BTU for example, it is most likely all you will need is a 15A 240V circuit. Save the large wire for something that will actually need it.

What kind of breaker? One that is correct for your panel brand and type, and one that is sized properly for the circuit.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 01:55 PM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

230 volt outlet in workshop


Do you already have the A/C unit? If so, what does the rating tag say?
If you don't have the A/C you will need to figure out what size to get based on the room size and insulation installed - then you can size up the power requirements.
I take it you already have a sub panel in the shop with 240 volts available if needed. What size is the feed wire and breaker for this sub?
Or, is this shop attached to a house where you will be pulling a new circuit from an existing panel?

Last edited by a7ecorsair; 06-26-2010 at 01:59 PM.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 01:57 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

230 volt outlet in workshop


I want to get a unit that also has heat capability, so I think I need more amps (bigger wire) than I would for just a/c. Plus the wire is free!
jimmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 02:01 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

230 volt outlet in workshop


So you are looking at putting in a heat pump?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 02:07 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

230 volt outlet in workshop


something like this:

http://www.lowes.com/pd_89279-2251-FAH12ER2T_4294859075_4294937087?productId=3046952& Ns=p_product_quantity_sold|0&pl=1&currentURL=/pl_Air%2BConditioners_4294859075_4294937087_?newSe arch=true$ddkey=http:SearchCatalogDisplay$Ns=p_pro duct_quantity_sold|0
jimmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 02:22 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

230 volt outlet in workshop


Nice how they give the voltage, but not the amperage.

A 12k btu cooling unit @ 240v will be around a 6-7 amp draw. That unit will likely require a 15 or 20A circuit.

I understand that the cable is free, but how much do you really need? #14 or #12 cable is NOT that expensive, and is MUCH easier to work with.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 02:40 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

230 volt outlet in workshop


I guess I should start from the beginning. Bear with me, I am obviously no electrician. When I built and wired my shop initially, I also had this same wire (8/4) and wired it from (what I now know as) a double-pole, 40 amp breaker in my house panel box to a sub-panel box in my shop where I put in 2 - 20 amp circuits and 1 - 15 amp circuit. I did not know that this double pole breaker was FOR 220. However, everything works as it should as it stands now. I work construction part time and I spoke to the electrical crew and was advised that I would need a bigger wire to add an air conditioner/heater to the shop. Now that background is out here, what do you suggest I do in order to add an air conditioner/heater?
jimmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 03:12 PM   #10
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

230 volt outlet in workshop


Ah, so you have a 240V sub in the shop. You should think about just adding a 20 amp 240 volt circuit. I doubt that it takes more than that. A 20 amp receptacle will let you plug in either a 15 amp plug or a 20 amp plug and at 12000 BTU I wouldn't think it would be any more. Do you have room for the breaker?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 03:16 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

230 volt outlet in workshop


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmike View Post
...., I also had this same wire (8/4) and wired it from (what I now know as) a double-pole, 40 amp breaker in my house panel box to a sub-panel box in my shop where I put in 2 - 20 amp circuits and 1 - 15 amp circuit. I did not know that this double pole breaker was FOR 220.
A double pole breaker is not for "220".
What you have is a 120/240v feeder to your sub-panel. This is perfectly normal.

Advertisement

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Need a 220 Volt Outlet in garage, what to do? gante Electrical 6 04-11-2010 11:53 AM
Should I replace a 240 volt outlet when getting a new AC sxn77 Electrical 18 05-08-2009 12:23 PM
Can I run two 220 volt devices off of one outlet stringpickin Electrical 39 04-26-2009 01:48 PM
3 Wire 220 Volt Outlet theatretch85 Electrical 5 07-29-2008 02:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts