225A Load Center - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2012, 09:42 AM   #31
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

225A Load Center


Want to buy a couple used FPE breakers?

Advertisement

k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:36 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rural northern NJ
Posts: 478
Rewards Points: 316
Default

225A Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravenworks View Post
Why not use an LB?
I intend to use an LB to get through the rim joist.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
If you have not laid conduit and would like to upgrade later I would suggest going with a larger size conduit. And I would suggest you buy already made elbows and LB's for the sharp bends to get inside.
I have laid and buried 3" conduit to the meter pan. I guess I was thinking the conduit sweeps projected too far into the basement, but a standard radius 2" sweep has a radius of 9.5 inches. The concrete block is 8" thick plus 2-4" of xps foam, so I shouldn't have any trouble.

http://img.docstoccdn.com/thumb/orig/54260461.png

I guess I could always go out the left side knockout, but I would prefer to minimize the conduit in front of the house.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
From an earlier post:


I still find it VERY hard to believe that he is going to get both for under $200. Even under $500 would be a bargain....unless of course the stuff is used.
All new. I paid $113 (with shipping) for the panel and $19.75 (shipped) for the panel cover. This company has sold 24 of these units on eBay and has many more in inventory. The breaker, also brand new, will cost $57.50. My grand total will be $190.25 (not counting my 2 percent cash back from eBay).

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Yes I just googled them and found both the breaker and panel with a good buy it now/best offer. I have bough some electrical parts off ebay users but always wonder if it will come back to bite me. Bolt on breakers you can tell if they have been bolted on before but you never know how the item has been stored.
Fortunately, buyers are well protected. You have a lot of buyer protection with eBay, and I've had as easy a time with eBay returns as with local supply houses. A company or individual seller's eBay feedback is a great reassurance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Want to buy a couple used FPE breakers?
Why don't I trade you some 2004 QPex fittings?
benjamincall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:05 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rural northern NJ
Posts: 478
Rewards Points: 316
Default

225A Load Center


A POCO engineer said the service lateral ampacity was my concern, since, contrary to what the original engineer said, I will own the lateral. I'm not sure the inspector cares about the service lateral other than the depth of the conduit, so I think I'm on my own on this one.

From a practical standpoint, do you think the 4/0 Aluminum triplex at a length of approximately 135 feet, will pose a problem for a 225A service?
benjamincall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:44 PM   #34
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

225A Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by benjamincall View Post
A POCO engineer said the service lateral ampacity was my concern, since, contrary to what the original engineer said, I will own the lateral. I'm not sure the inspector cares about the service lateral other than the depth of the conduit, so I think I'm on my own on this one.

From a practical standpoint, do you think the 4/0 Aluminum triplex at a length of approximately 135 feet, will pose a problem for a 225A service?
I think it will.
4/0 Al is only allowed at 200 amps to feed a residence.
In my area, the laterals belong to the poco, so follow different rules.
Has the poco engineer said anything anout the lateral size?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:08 PM   #35
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,975
Rewards Points: 2,206
Default

225A Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
I think it will.
4/0 Al is only allowed at 200 amps to feed a residence.
In my area, the laterals belong to the poco, so follow different rules.
Has the poco engineer said anything anout the lateral size?
JB, are not POCO URD service laterals rated differently from NEC ratings?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:22 PM   #36
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

225A Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
JB, are not POCO URD service laterals rated differently from NEC ratings?
Yes, but I'm not sure that the lateral is under the nesc.

If so, then only the poco can answer the question if the 4/0 is large enough.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:51 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rural northern NJ
Posts: 478
Rewards Points: 316
Default

225A Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Yes, but I'm not sure that the lateral is under the nesc.

If so, then only the poco can answer the question if the 4/0 is large enough.
I have conflicting reports from the POCO on who will own the lateral (I talked to two different POCO engineers). The electrical inspector called me back, and he tells me all I have to do to get the cut-in card is run the 3/0 THHN to the panel. He tells me I'm crazy for giving up the ease of using SEU cable. I don't imagine the POCO really cares as long as it gets the card.

Oh yeah, the code official said I could use liquid tight conduit from the meter pan, if I want. http://www.ebay.com/itm/2-seal-tite-new-one-foot-sold-foot-/370337549687?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5639d6 8d77.

Last edited by benjamincall; 04-16-2012 at 06:52 PM.
benjamincall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:19 PM   #38
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

225A Load Center


If you install the lateral it is your responsibility and is covered by the NEC. 4/0 AL is good for 200A. It has to be inspected by the Electrical Subcode Official of your municipality. If you have the electrical utility install the lateral then they will run whatever the engineer specs out and it is their responsibility. The advantage of having the POCO install the underground is that they will repair it at no cost to you if there ever is a problem. If you install it, then you pay for any repairs. Also, the POCO may run direct burial cable. Not conduit. If it crosses under a paved driveway and has to be repaired, the driveway will have to be repaired. That is why when I built my home I installed my 500 kcmil AL in conduit. The utility was going to run direct burial.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:46 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rural northern NJ
Posts: 478
Rewards Points: 316
Default

225A Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
If you install the lateral it is your responsibility and is covered by the NEC. 4/0 AL is good for 200A. It has to be inspected by the Electrical Subcode Official of your municipality. If you have the electrical utility install the lateral then they will run whatever the engineer specs out and it is their responsibility. The advantage of having the POCO install the underground is that they will repair it at no cost to you if there ever is a problem. If you install it, then you pay for any repairs. Also, the POCO may run direct burial cable. Not conduit. If it crosses under a paved driveway and has to be repaired, the driveway will have to be repaired. That is why when I built my home I installed my 500 kcmil AL in conduit. The utility was going to run direct burial.
If I had hired the power company to do the job, I wonder if they would have put in direct burial cable in light of the presence of granite bedrock. I spent days breaking the rock just to get enough cover for schedule 80 conduit.

As to the ownership of the lateral, the engineer who was assigned to my work request said JCPL would take ownership of the lateral after we completed the hook-up. I hope he was correct. Whatever the case, the inspector says I'm good for 225A.

Right now I'm trying to figure out which Sealtite connectors to buy.

Last edited by benjamincall; 04-19-2012 at 09:27 AM. Reason: I meant to write "direct burial cable" not direct burial conduit"
benjamincall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 11:58 PM   #40
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

225A Load Center


Why use sealtite. You could go into the meter from the underground conduit and then go back out the bottom into conduit and an LB to get inside.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 12:11 AM   #41
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

225A Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Want to buy a couple used FPE breakers?
Had a huge box of breakers and a few panels I that I tossed out about year ago. It's possible that I will come across some more.

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Square D load center QO20M100 LAA2of3 Electrical 32 01-09-2013 06:46 PM
Load center & grounding recommendations lesp Electrical 9 04-16-2011 12:14 AM
Load center vs. bottom fed Panel Board. Ugh. wmldwilly Electrical 8 04-23-2009 08:48 PM
CH42B200R Load Center for Detached Home Theater nomad4137 Electrical 6 07-21-2008 07:57 PM
Main Load center Size Evnldr Electrical 11 06-13-2008 11:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts