Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2008, 02:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

220V Wiring


I just ordered a new 3hp table saw, it hasn't arrived yet. However, I've been poking around and see references to a 3 prong plug which had me confused for a while .

Let's see if I have this straight. If the saw has a 3 prong plug and it is a 220V tool you've got 2 hots + a ground and can run it with a 3 wire cable, say a 12/2 if the tool calls for a 20 amp circuit. The connection in the sub panel would be ground to the ground bar, white and black to the 2 legs of the double pole breaker with a wrap of red tape on the white wire to denote it as hot. No nuetral is needed because the tool is 220V only.

220V circuits with 4 wires are for items needing both 220V and 120V with the 120V side basically using one hot lead and a nuetral. In that case the connection in the sub panel is black and red to the breaker, ground to the ground bar and white to the nuetral bar.

The sub panel is a main lug only so I can shut the thing completely off while working inside it.

Mdbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 03:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


I think you got it. If you want to post the model of the saw you are getting, I'm sure someone here can tell you what receptacle you will need to install for the saw.

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 03:44 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


Both 220 and 11o will have a 3 prong plug. The 220 has one blade turned 90 degrees so you can not plug 110 into it.
BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 04:01 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdbuilder View Post
I just ordered a new 3hp table saw, it hasn't arrived yet. However, I've been poking around and see references to a 3 prong plug which had me confused for a while .

Let's see if I have this straight. If the saw has a 3 prong plug and it is a 220V tool you've got 2 hots + a ground and can run it with a 3 wire cable, say a 12/2 if the tool calls for a 20 amp circuit. The connection in the sub panel would be ground to the ground bar, white and black to the 2 legs of the double pole breaker with a wrap of red tape on the white wire to denote it as hot. No nuetral is needed because the tool is 220V only.

220V circuits with 4 wires are for items needing both 220V and 120V with the 120V side basically using one hot lead and a nuetral. In that case the connection in the sub panel is black and red to the breaker, ground to the ground bar and white to the nuetral bar.

The sub panel is a main lug only so I can shut the thing completely off while working inside it.
You are correct. Make sure to mark the white at both ends of the circuit.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 07:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


Thanks JR, and thanks Billy - I knew the plug is different. Thanks Jerry, the saw is a Delta 3hp Unisaw. I don't have the manual for it as Delta doesn't have them on their website, I was looking over a manual for a Grizzly equivalent saw and they show the 3 prong 220 plugs. The only 220 circuits I have currently are dryer, range and a 50 amp RV socket. Those are all 4 prong and the difference made me think . I like to understand rather than just get the "this wire goes there" short list...
Mdbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 07:40 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


Or if you are in Canada you can use heatex cable.

http://www.nexans.ca/egy/equip/bw/nm_heatex.htm



Last edited by joed; 07-07-2008 at 07:44 PM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 07:57 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,142
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


Joed I beleive I have seen that stuff at Home Depot but do people actually use it. Why wouldn't you just grab a chunk of 2 wire that you have lying around and use that.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 08:47 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


Yep, got a good part of a 250 foot roll of regular 12/2. Better to use that with the price of copper these days...
Mdbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 08:49 AM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdbuilder View Post
I like to understand rather than just get the "this wire goes there" short list...
That's great. And many of us enjoy explaining the details and reasons behind what we do. Maybe this site will interest you on plug configurations.

http://www.stayonline.com/reference-...ght-blade.aspx

Look at the 6-15 and 6-20. Most likely your saw will have one of these.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 10:00 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdbuilder View Post
Thanks JR, and thanks Billy - I knew the plug is different. Thanks Jerry, the saw is a Delta 3hp Unisaw. I don't have the manual for it as Delta doesn't have them on their website, I was looking over a manual for a Grizzly equivalent saw and they show the 3 prong 220 plugs. The only 220 circuits I have currently are dryer, range and a 50 amp RV socket. Those are all 4 prong and the difference made me think . I like to understand rather than just get the "this wire goes there" short list...
Try this for the manual. http://powertool.manualsonline.com/
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 10:32 AM   #11
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdbuilder View Post
... I don't have the manual for it as Delta doesn't have them on their website...
Ahh grasshopper, that's where you'd be mistaken!

This should get you going...page 6 shows the plug. Of course you didn't say LT a RT manual is also available.

Hope this helps!
__________________
when it comes to breakfast, the chicken is dedicated, the pig is committed.
LMASD
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 02:38 PM   #12
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
Joed I beleive I have seen that stuff at Home Depot but do people actually use it. Why wouldn't you just grab a chunk of 2 wire that you have lying around and use that.
If you already have the cable, sure use it. If not, that cable is an option for 240 volts devices.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 04:31 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


Excellent, thanks Rippy! I looked on the delta site and got a "sorry that's not here" error...
Mdbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 08:12 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


Ok, I think I'm done. Anyone care to comment?

Tried to be as neat as possible, I could strip the cable sheeth back a little further on the 120 circuit on the left side. Dunno about that wire that comes up the left side and curves over the top, could have run it through the studs / up into the ceiling and down into the box. Also need one more wire staple...
Attached Thumbnails
220V Wiring-88001.jpg   220V Wiring-water-problem-pool-electric027.jpg  

Last edited by Mdbuilder; 07-09-2008 at 08:36 PM.
Mdbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 10:28 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,784
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220V Wiring


You can't staple the wire on edge like that. You need to lay it flat, otherwise looks good.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
220V Washer 3-pronged to 220V dryer-outlet Primergy Electrical 19 03-27-2008 10:40 PM
220v wiring bwill Electrical 11 02-27-2008 06:48 AM
Wiring a 220v dryer receptacle pjpjpjpj Electrical 8 06-05-2007 04:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.