220v Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2008, 07:00 PM   #1
sbroco
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

220v wiring


i have an existing 220v live running in my workshop, but i need to either add a line or splice the existing wiring to run a line to the other side of the shop. is this possible and how???? thank you.

Advertisement

bwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 07:20 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,431
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

220v wiring


If used for a specific piece of equipment, you will have to run another line for the other piece.

Advertisement

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 07:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

220v wiring


What will the line be for. Do you need two of them based on the specs of any equipment you'll be using.

Need more info!
lg 38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 07:23 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

220v wiring


What will the line be for. Do you need two of them based on the specs of any equipment you'll be using.

Need more info!
lg 38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 07:24 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,431
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

220v wiring


From the OP, it appears that they want to use on the other side, not that the equipment needs two lines on the same side of the shop. Most likely more for ease of use, then necessity.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 07:43 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

220v wiring


Bwill, don't PM people with information regarding questions. This does nothing to let others help. Also, it goes against what these forums are all about.

Please post more info regarding this.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 08:00 PM   #7
sbroco
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

220v wiring


its just for ease. my partner uses one 220v line for various equipment and i need to have the same usage about 20ft away. we are both pretty much rookies at electrical so any help is much appreciated.
bwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 08:08 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,390
Rewards Points: 3,574
Blog Entries: 4
Default

220v wiring


Depending on what the equipment is you are using, you may not be able to use them both at the same time. Give us some more info on the equipment and the amp of the current line.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 08:30 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

220v wiring


Is this a commercial shop?
What are these machines?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 05:49 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

220v wiring


Is it 220 or 221?

If you REALLY want advice, you need to realize that this is like someone asking you what kind of saw to use to cut wood.

Then you have to go back and ask them what kind/size of wood then you'd have to go back and ask what the application was (field or shop).

There's lots of differnt wood products and lots of different tools for cutting them.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 06:41 AM   #11
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220v wiring


221???
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 07:48 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nassau, New York
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

220v wiring


Why can't you install a disconnect/breaker the same amps as the wire/feed has, and run to the other side of the shop from there. with the same size wire. If the old work is installed correctly.

Advertisement


Last edited by RobertS; 02-27-2008 at 07:50 AM.
RobertS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about 220V cd player vs 120V sdipiet@msn.com Electrical 2 11-25-2007 04:23 AM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 09:53 PM
Wiring a 220v dryer receptacle pjpjpjpj Electrical 8 06-05-2007 05:08 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 12:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts