Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-26-2008, 09:29 PM   #1

Share |

220V Washer 3-pronged to 220V dryer-outlet

Hi,
I have a not too common Bosch washer with 220V (new older stock).
The washer runs on 220V and has a 3 pronged cable!

We are moving, our new apartment has two 220V 4-pronged dryer-outlets!
I want to do the job on the washer and NOT fiddle with the apartments wiring!

The washer does NOT have a small outlet-box on the back that would allow easy mounting of a 4 pronged pigtail to connect to the dryer-outlet.

To make things "worse" - I do know my way around electronics etc., but I am new to the US and the local standards (I am firm with all German standards ).
In Germany you normally run into questions like this once you want to connect something with more then 24A at 220V or have 380V apps.

Yes, I could call an electrician and some of you would probably recommend that, but I want to know what to do personally.

Bosch Axxis WFR2460UC
PDF file with all specs: http://www.boschappliances.com/axxisPDFs/WFR2460UC.pdf

plug on the washer
http://h8h.org/jan/moeb/DSC00761_resize.JPG

specs. on the washer itself
http://h8h.org/jan/moeb/DSC00763_resize.JPG

Since I got all kids of answers from "representatives", helpdesks and other online finds... please help me out with loud & clear facts.
The best was some Lowes guy who tried to convince me that he never saw a 220V washer before which let him to the irrevocable conclusion that I either got the wrong specs. or brought it over from Germany and would not admit it (btw. we have 220V 50Hz in Germany, not 60Hz)

Thanks in advance for all comments, info, help, etc. !

Primergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 09:38 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.

So you got your first experience with a highly trained employee at a home center.
Consider yourself initiated.