220v Question - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 11:03 PM   #16
Member
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 294
Default

220v Question


I went to Lowes this evening and found all the parts to make the extension cord and change out the breaker and receptacle. So I have more latitude in my search for another saw. If it comes down to a 220v saw, I now know I can provide power to it.

Also, if I buy a 110v model, I could also upgrade my shop vac buy buying a dust collector that runs on 220v and take advantage of the available 220v. :-)

Thanks for all the helpful advice.
Mike

Advertisement

MT Stringer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:53 AM   #17
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,762
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by MT Stringer View Post
I went to Lowes this evening and found all the parts to make the extension cord and change out the breaker and receptacle. So I have more latitude in my search for another saw. If it comes down to a 220v saw, I now know I can provide power to it.

Also, if I buy a 110v model, I could also upgrade my shop vac buy buying a dust collector that runs on 220v and take advantage of the available 220v. :-)

Thanks for all the helpful advice.
Mike
You are welcome!!
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 12:18 PM   #18
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,672
Rewards Points: 2,648
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by MT Stringer View Post
I went to Lowes this evening and found all the parts to make the extension cord and change out the breaker and receptacle. So I have more latitude in my search for another saw. If it comes down to a 220v saw, I now know I can provide power to it.

Also, if I buy a 110v model, I could also upgrade my shop vac buy buying a dust collector that runs on 220v and take advantage of the available 220v. :-)

Thanks for all the helpful advice.
Mike
Just an FYI.....it's actually 120/240

It's common for people to use 110/220 when talking about AC....but if your voltage is actually that low....you have issues.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:04 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Because a 240V motor will not work as hard and will start MUCH easier as compared to the the equivalent 120V motor.
Are you sure?
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:08 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220v Question


If this is an old installation, there may not be a separate ground in the outlet. Strictly speaking, won't new cable with separate ground and neutral be needed for any major changes? If that is the case, an extension cord may be the only option.

Why not add a sub panel in place of the outlet if the cable is correct for that?
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:22 PM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ionized View Post
Are you sure?
He is correct.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:38 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220v Question


My understanding is that there is no significant difference if the cabling is adequate in both situations:

120V lower voltage, higher current, power =
240V higher voltage, lower current, power =, less expensive cable is an advantage in new installation.

Three phase is, of course, another story entirely.
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:31 PM   #23
Member
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 294
Default

220v Question


And now for an update.
I bought a Grizzly 1023RLW table saw -3hp, prewired for 240.
Making the extension cord was easy.
Thanks for all the tips and advice.
Note: It will always be 110/220 for me. :-) Y'all can call it what you want. Hard to change the nomenclature after 50 years.
MT Stringer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:54 AM   #24
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,672
Rewards Points: 2,648
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by MT Stringer View Post
And now for an update.
I bought a Grizzly 1023RLW table saw -3hp, prewired for 240.
Making the extension cord was easy.
Thanks for all the tips and advice.
Note: It will always be 110/220 for me. :-) Y'all can call it what you want. Hard to change the nomenclature after 50 years.
220, 221. What ever it takes.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:58 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 858
Rewards Points: 732
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by MT Stringer View Post
And now for an update.
I bought a Grizzly 1023RLW table saw -3hp, prewired for 240.
... Making the extension cord was easy.

Make sure you use NEMA 6-20 style plugs for the cord and 12AWG wire.

Also be sure there isn't anything else on this circuit. Once you liven it to 240VAC it won't be friendly if a rogue receptacle you missed gets up in voltage.

Surface mount conduit for a garage is pretty straight forward. Run it up in top corner or along the floor against the sill plate. The conduit provides the necessary mechanical protection. Avoids hacking up the drywall.
curiousB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 01:18 PM   #26
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ionized View Post
My understanding is that there is no significant difference if the cabling is adequate in both situations:

120V lower voltage, higher current, power =
240V higher voltage, lower current, power =, less expensive cable is an advantage in new installation.

Three phase is, of course, another story entirely.
Power used is the same. Voltage drop is the difference.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (01-06-2013)
Old 01-06-2013, 02:43 PM   #27
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ionized View Post
My understanding is that there is no significant difference if the cabling is adequate in both situations:

120V lower voltage, higher current, power =
240V higher voltage, lower current, power =, less expensive cable is an advantage in new installation.

Three phase is, of course, another story entirely.
I know this is semi old thread but as long the OP did bring it up to the date that is fine but I will addressed to the quouter ( Ionized ).,

The wattage will be always be the same no matter the voltage you using.

Well techally wise the higher voltage will aid the motour starting much better due it will withstand much better voltage dip during motour starting and it will run little better.

I have alot of hevey power tools and equiment useally set up for 240 volt or higher ( Mine shop in Wisconsin is classeifed as commercal so I can get 480 volts without issue )

The other big advange with 240 volt equiment is useally the lights are not really affected during the start up they may flicker a second but not much as if that was on 120 volt conferation then it will show up depending on the circuit is lay out ( connected )

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
220v question dcw Electrical 11 04-06-2012 11:05 AM
Generator connection Question - Final Plan Apollo67 Electrical 24 01-30-2012 08:44 PM
Powering a 50A 220V outdoor swimspa firisland1 Electrical 9 11-25-2008 07:51 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts