Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 12:45 AM   #1
Member
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 193
Rewards Points: 166
Default

220v Question


I was thinking about replacing my tired old Craftsman table saw with a new one. It runs on 115v. I don't have 220v readily assessable to where the saw would be placed. So, is it feasible to run an extension cord (rated for 220v) from the 220v dryer receptacle along the inside wall to the saw...about 20-25 feet? This is all inside my one car garage.

Note: My dryer operates with natural gas so the 220v is not used, and hasn't been used in the past 25 years we have lived here.

Your thoughts appreciated.

Thanks
Mike

MT Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 01:28 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: DC metro
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

220v Question


It's not the preferred method, but I'd say, yes, it is feasible. I've run all sorts of heavy duty equipment in the field off 220 extensions from a generator. I would disconnect the extensions when you are not using it. Are the garage walls all finished off? Generally it's pretty easy to relocate an existing receptacle.

Big John Studd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 04:57 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

220v Question


Why not just buy a new saw that also runs on 110 v?
There's hundreds of them avalible.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:10 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Why not just buy a new saw that also runs on 110 v?
There's hundreds of them avalible.
Because a 240V motor will not work as hard and will start MUCH easier as compared to the the equivalent 120V motor.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:15 AM   #5
Member
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 193
Rewards Points: 166
Default

220v Question


Thanks for your thoughts. The garage is finished out with drywall and insulated along the outside wall. The attic is insulated also. With a low pitch roof (3/12) it would be tough for an electrician to drill through the top plate on the outside wall to run 220 down to a receptacle. That is why I was thinking about a heavy duty extension cord.

Buying a saw that runs off of 110v is most likely what I will wind up doing. I just wanted to explore my options. The receptacle is on the end wall and the saw sits by the overhead door so I would have to route the extension cord over to and along the outside wall to the receptacle.

Still thinking. This is not a must do thing and I do have time to work it out. I am just getting the "new toy" fever, that's all. :-)

Last edited by MT Stringer; 10-06-2012 at 11:48 AM.
MT Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:24 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by MT Stringer View Post
Thanks for your thoughts. The garage is finished out with drywall and insulated along the outside wall. The attic is insulated also. With a low pitch roof (3/12) it would be tough for an electrician to cut drill through the top plate on the outside wall to run 220 down to a receptacle.
You would be surprised. There are many ways to skin a cat.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 12:22 PM   #7
Member
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 193
Rewards Points: 166
Default

220v Question


I guess one option would be to run conduit from the receptacle around the walls. I could change out the receptacle and put in a junction box on both ends of the conduit with the correct receptacle on the tool end.

Is there anything wrong with that train of thought? No doubt I would get a friend involved that does electrical work to make the tie ins.

Note 1: I have owned this house 25 years and it is paid for so I won't be moving anytime soon. If I ran the conduit, it would be easy to undo my conduit if the dryer connection was ever to be needed. We just replaced our old gas dryer with a new one, so we won't be needing 220v for any time soon.

Note 2: I have a half inch conduit bender. :-)
MT Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 12:31 PM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,573
Rewards Points: 2,476
Default

220v Question


Which model saw are you looking at?

I have the Ryobi Bt3000.....works great....have never had any issues.....and it's 120Vac.

If you go with a belt driven unit....the motor typically runs at a higher RPM so that eliminates some of the issues of lower voltage....

BUT....a 240Vac saw is nice....pretty much no limit to what you can do......

I would consider doing some surgery on those walls.....once you have a couple of 240Vac outlets in the right places, you start looking at other tools that could use it.....like a MIG welder....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 12:35 PM   #9
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,731
Rewards Points: 1,068
Default

220v Question


Change receptacle to 20a/240v. Change breaker to 20a 2 pole. Make extension cord. Good for your occasional use of table saw or anything else 240v.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 01:36 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 157
Rewards Points: 150
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
I would consider doing some surgery on those walls.....once you have a couple of 240Vac outlets in the right places, you start looking at other tools that could use it.....like a MIG welder....
I second this. When I put a subpanel in my garage I sacrificed a 6 inch wide strip of drywall all the way across one wall for two 240v 30a runs. One for an existing welder and one for future use (like a table saw or bigger compressor).
silversport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 02:34 PM   #11
Member
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 193
Rewards Points: 166
Default

220v Question


Lots of good suggestions. Thanks.
Saws - I have been looking but up until today, I had not even considered a 220v model. My current saw is working ok with the exception that the two metal wings aren't level with the table and I haven't had any luck adjusting them. I have Vega Pro 40 fence system mounted to the saw and it works great. The saw sits just inside the garage door and faces inward. Anything longer than four feet requires me to open the door so I can start the rip. Outfeed/assembly/workbench is on the far side of the saw towards the middle of the garage. So, by far the easiest way to go is to buy another saw that runs on 110v and be done with it. AT 63, I would like to get a saw that I can enjoy for a few more years - one with cast iron wings that are flat to the saw's surface.

20a 220v with extension cord - That sound very dooable and probably the second best choice.

Open up wall - While it is a great idea, there are a row of heavy duty storage shelving units along the outside wall with all of our junk stored there. Having several dedicated receptacles would be great for a table saw and a dust collection system similar to the Harbor Freight or Grizzly models, but the initial job task is more than I want to consider at the moment.

So ranked from easiest to accomplish to the most difficult, this is the choices:

1 - buy another 110v saw and be done with it
2 - Change 220v breaker and run an extension cord to a new 220v saw
3 - modify or install wiring for dedicated 220v receptacles.

Thanks for all your comments. I will check in later. I have some sawdust to sling while the weather is pretty today.

Mike
MT Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 03:24 PM   #12
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,129
Rewards Points: 2,228
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Change receptacle to 20a/240v. Change breaker to 20a 2 pole. Make extension cord. Good for your occasional use of table saw or anything else 240v.
I second that idea ....
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
electures (10-06-2012), jrclen (10-07-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 04:29 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

220v Question


I keep answers contained to the question(s) asked. You asked about running extension cords for 220 Volt tools from your 220 Volt outlet for a dryer. Most 220 Volt outlets for dryers are 30 Amps or more.

You can easily run a 220 Volt extension cord. I have several shop tools with cords over 30 feet long and see little difference between that and an extension cord. Simply go to one of the big box stores and get 10 gauge or thicker "extension cord type" wire. I use 10-2 wire and utilize the ground wire though you could use 10-3 wire and have both ground and return. It's not needed though and not used for things like water heaters and air conditioners.

I offer a suggestion to you if you choose to do this route. Use twist locks on all receptacles. Those are less likely to come undone from tools. The look something like these:

http://www.google.com/imgres?um=1&hl...9,r:5,s:0,i:95

http://www.google.com/imgres?um=1&hl...9,r:0,s:0,i:79

Do not purchase them from the source of the pictures. They are available much cheaper at a big box store. You are looking for plugs rated for 30 amps. Make sure you purchase the right male plug for your saw that fits into the female receptacle you purchase. It's a very easy thing to accomplish.

Last edited by riddlers; 10-06-2012 at 04:32 PM.
riddlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 05:21 PM   #14
Member
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 193
Rewards Points: 166
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by riddlers View Post
I keep answers contained to the question(s) asked. You asked about running extension cords for 220 Volt tools from your 220 Volt outlet for a dryer. Most 220 Volt outlets for dryers are 30 Amps or more.

You can easily run a 220 Volt extension cord. I have several shop tools with cords over 30 feet long and see little difference between that and an extension cord. Simply go to one of the big box stores and get 10 gauge or thicker "extension cord type" wire. I use 10-2 wire and utilize the ground wire though you could use 10-3 wire and have both ground and return. It's not needed though and not used for things like water heaters and air conditioners.

I offer a suggestion to you if you choose to do this route. Use twist locks on all receptacles. Those are less likely to come undone from tools. The look something like these:

http://www.google.com/imgres?um=1&hl...9,r:5,s:0,i:95

http://www.google.com/imgres?um=1&hl...9,r:0,s:0,i:79

Do not purchase them from the source of the pictures. They are available much cheaper at a big box store. You are looking for plugs rated for 30 amps. Make sure you purchase the right male plug for your saw that fits into the female receptacle you purchase. It's a very easy thing to accomplish.
Thanks. That would be easy to do.
MT Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:48 PM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

220v Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by riddlers View Post
I keep answers contained to the question(s) asked.
That's very good of you.
The other replies were helpful as well.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (10-06-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
220v question dcw Electrical 11 04-06-2012 11:05 AM
Generator connection Question - Final Plan Apollo67 Electrical 24 01-30-2012 08:44 PM
Powering a 50A 220V outdoor swimspa firisland1 Electrical 9 11-25-2008 07:51 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.